Don’t make fun of renowned Dan Brown – Telegraph

I’ve not read anything written by Dan Brown, but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy this deft skewering of his writing style.

Or you can simply read it as a subtle article, with examples, of what not to do in your writing.

Brilliant.

Renowned author Dan Brown smiled, the ends of his mouth curving upwards in a physical expression of pleasure. He felt much better. If your books brought innocent delight to millions of readers, what did it matter whether you knew the difference between a transitive and an intransitive verb?

via Don’t make fun of renowned Dan Brown – Telegraph.

3 thoughts on “Don’t make fun of renowned Dan Brown – Telegraph

  1. I feel a little bad for all the Dan Brown hate. It’s become trendy to mock him, so he gets a bit more than he deserves. This was hilarious, though, I have to admit.

  2. It’s probably true, but I still find the article and the attitude kind of harsh. I read “The Da Vinci Code”. I couldn’t stop reading it despite thinking all the time how two-dimensional the characters were and how badly it was written. The end was disappointing also. The chapters are frustratingly short, each interrupted with a not so subtle cliffhanger. It felt as if the author was following a “recipe” but with nothing else. This critic seems to think he’s imitating Dan Brown’s style. But it wasn’t that bad as far as I remember.
    That being said, I can also see here a case of sour grapes. I don’t know who the author of the article is. Has he published any novel? Before criticizing someone who has, and for whatever the reason quite successfully, all these critics should first see how well they would do. It’s easy to comment on the game from the outside…

    • I hear everything you say. I haven’t read anything by Brown, so I don’t have any hate/love for him.

      Also, I’m sure the author of the article ramped it up a bit for comedy’s sake. Could be sour grapes too, I suppose. Perhaps a skewering in defense of those critics Dan Brown is said to hate?

Leave a Reply

