Midday Update

I didn’t hit my goal of 800 words at lunch today, but I did manage 300 words. If I can manage 800 tonight, that will give me 1200 for today and that will be fine with me. Some of the advice I have read regarding NaNoWriMo talks about “filler” and just writing about anything. I don’t want to quite go this far. I have no problem turning off my internal editor, I think he’s drunk or just confused half the time anyhow, but I also want to have something to work with at the end of the month.

To me, this is an exercise to get me to write as much as possible in a month. It is already working, in that I can’t remember the last time I wrote 1000 words in two days. I also feel energized and I just might have a strategy for writing beyond November, and to me that is a good thing.

By the way, check out Sharon’s post titled The Igloo. I really enjoyed that one. Also, stop by Helen‘s blog for her “mini-biography“.

National Novel Writing Month – Update

Well, I was able to write 720 words in an hour last night, which doesn’t sound like a lot, but is very good for me. Add to that the fact that I didn’t have an outline, and I think I did pretty well. As I started writing I felt like I “was in the zone” and kept flowing with good ideas. I’m excited to see where this story will take me, as it almost feels like it is writing itself. I was so pumped up by the time I was finished it took me an hour to fall asleep (I’m not used to this as I am usually so exhausted from the baby that I fall asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow).

I did my writing in a Moleskine Reporter Notebook, which I bought yesterday by accident. I planned on buying a regular Moleskine and picked up the Reporter version by mistake. Once I started writing in it, however, I started to like it.

My plan for today is to write 800 words at lunch at work and 800 words at home before I go to bed. We will see how that goes.