The Inner Critic can Bite Me

Well, I somehow met my evening writing goal last night, banging out 982 words last night, giving me a total of 1293 for the day. I didn’t quite hit 1600, but I am pretty proud of myself. I was telling my wife about my progress last night and she asked me, “Can you keep this up?”. She asked me this not in a condescending way but more with a sense of awe. I honestly don’t know if I will be able to keep it up, but I would like to try.

As I was writing last night, I had to smack down my “inner critic” several times. He kept telling me that I was putting in too much description, and I kept telling him that description is essential to a story, especially when I need to keep my word count high. I can edit out what isn’t needed later. Then, he kept suggesting I go back to the beginning of the story and make it more interesting and better written. Again, I told him this is what the second draft is about. I think in the end, he just got tired and let me write. Soon enough, 300 words became 900 and I was good to go. Don’t listen to your inner critic. He/she is not nice.

One thought on “The Inner Critic can Bite Me

  1. Excellent advice. One thing I am forever reminding myself that writing instructors/mentors like to say: it is much easier to cut a bulky manuscript than trying to beef-up a skimpy one.

Leave a Reply

