Feeding a Baby

pout.jpg

I thought I would take a little break from the NaNoWriMo posts for now and talk about something that I spend much more of my time on, my daughter.

Recently, our daughter has begun the journey on the glorious road to eating solid foods. For starters, she we fed her rice cereal in the evenings and my wife feeds her oatmeal in the mornings. She enjoyed eating these foods from the start and we are so proud of her. She now gets so excited for her cereal, you can hear her licking her lips!

After a few weeks, it was time to move her onto vegetables. The first time we gave her squash, she seemed to be ok with it. Ever since then, however, she wants nothing to do with squash or sweet potatoes. My wife has even tasted the stuff (I can’t bring myself to do it) and says it tastes pretty good.

Last night, it was my turn to feed her, which is only fair since my wife watches her the whole day. As I brought over the little spoon and bowl, one side containing the yummy cereal and the other containing the horrible squash, her little eyes lit up and she had a huge smile on her face. Little did she know that she was getting the dreaded sweet potatoes first.

I scooped up a tiny portion of sweet potatoes onto the Winnie the Pooh spoon and gently put them in her mouth, and her immediate reaction was priceless. As soon as they touched her tongue, her face changed from excited, disgusted. She looked as though I had just fed her earthworms. I tried not to laugh, but it was just too funny and cute. I wanted to quit and just give her the cereal, but we pressed on, knowing she needed her vegetables. Each spoonful either elicited a “pff” sound followed by a sweet potato shower, or a shaking “no” of the head. The only thing that worked was me making airplane sounds. This still elicits a smile.

When all was said and done, she did eat most of the sweet potatoes, though they were also all over her hands and face. After that, I fed her the rice cereal and all was well with the world, at least until she got bored of eating and wanted to play. Parenting can be trying at times, but these little moments are what keep me going.

