Happy Thanksgiving

I am off to celebrate Thanksgiving now. I may not be able to update this blog until Monday. Have a great holiday all of you who are celebrating Thanksgiving and everyone else have a nice week. In the meantime, here are links to some of the most popular posts I have written:

Fiction Writing Opportunity

Mike, over at Kalbzayn’s World had a post today about a “chance to get published that will not take much of your time“. Basically, the web site 55fiction.com is seeking flash fiction stories of 55 words. So, first check out Kalbzayn’s World, and then head on over to 55fiction.com and submit your story.

Here is my story:

Chaos

My comrades had fallen hours ago, overwhelmed by the events of the day, their seeming limitless energy depleted. To my left, my sister lay motionless on a mound of rubble, empty hands outstretched. Debris hung from the ceiling and the walls. My ears throbbed, still ringing from the awful, glorious noise.

Man, I love sleepovers.

Wikipedia Brown

Yesterday I came across Adam Cadre’s Wikipedia Brown and the Case of the Captured Koala, a short story parody of the Encyclopedia Brown children’s detective stories. I got a kick out of it, and now I want to go back and read some of my Encyclopedia Brown books. For those that are unfamiliar with Encyclopedia Brown, check out the Wikipedia link I provided (ironically?). As a kid it was always fun to read books like these where the children are smarter than the adults and are always saving the day and having adventures.

On the NaNoWriMo front, after all that pep talk from the other day, I still almost threw in the towel last night. Our daughter fell asleep later than usual and I had to drive back and forth to town a couple of times to pick up my car, which was at the garage being inspected. I sat there at 10:00 P.M., exhausted, thinking to myself how nice it would be to just lay down and go to sleep. Besides, I thought to myself, there is nothing left to write in this story.

Instead, I wrote a few horrible sentences of dialog. This dialog, though laughable, sparked a few ideas in my head which lead to more sentences and eventually helped me finally answer some plot questions which have been gnawing at me. By the time I was finished writing, I had 500+ words. A meager amount, for sure, but they were 500 very important words and are much better than zero words.