Nightime Writing Won’t Let Me Sleep

As you may have noticed by the lack of movement on my NaNoWriMo counter, I given up on that story. Well, I really haven’t given up on it, more like I have just put it aside for a while. I am still writing at night before bed, though. My current project is a Christmas themed short story that I hope to have finished in a week or so. However, I do have a slight problem. I’m having a hard time getting to sleep.

I know what you are thinking: eveyone has trouble sleeping now and then. Well, this isa new problem for me because ever since my daughter was born I have been able to fall asleep the moment my head hits the pillow, probably from exhaustion. I guess you could call that one of the added benefits of having a baby. Lately, I have been tossing and turning for hours after I go to bed. I finish up writing, put my head on my pillow, and then lay there thinking about my short story and what mull over ideas to improve the story. Or, I lie there excited about how great my story is going to be (I guess I’m an optimist at night). It was so bad last night that I was disturbing my wife to the point that she kept talking in her sleep about changing the sheets, seemingly because the ones we have now are too noisy.

Has anyone else who does their writing before going to sleep experienced this phenomena? The worse part about it is I have no other time I can really dedicate to my writing. I pretty much have to wait until the baby falls asleep, which also happens to be right before I go to sleep.