Vacation Update

Well, we made it safely to our destination, roughly 450 miles from home.  The trip was uneventful save for an hour “detour” and some very heavy rainfall. I caught a pretty cool interview with the director of the latest Harry Potter movie on XM while we were driving and I really want to see the movie.

We have “free” wireless high speed in the hotel room, which is nice and also how I’m writing this message.  Our room our first night was horrible.  The room was non-smoking but had smoking rooms on either side which basically meant we were in a smoking room.  The floor also felt damp and was dirty.  We requested a new room for our second night and it is sooo much nicer.  It’s like we’re in a whole new hotel.

We were able to go to the beach, which was great.  My daughter loved the ocean and also playing in the sand.  She even refrained from eating too much of it.  Mostly it was just nice to be away from home and not have to worry about cleaning everything.

On a funny note, my daughter thinks it’s hilarious when I wear my sunglasses.  She calls them “klasses”.   She also formed a sentence today, asking my wife to “draw a cat”.

As much fun as it is to be away from home, I can’t wait to get back home where my copy of Harry Potter awaits.

4 thoughts on “Vacation Update

  1. I’ve already got it! Heh heh heh! Don’t worry, I’m not going to do any spoilers – I’m already having to stick my fingers in my ears to avoid listening to a certain husband of mine who leapt on the computer as soon as we got home to find out what happened! (As if anyone could have read it in two hours flat).

    Klasses is so cute, and that is a clever sentence. I wish Kikzy would say that instead of waving the crayon at me and screaming at the top of his lungs.

    I hope the rest of your vacation is great!

  2. Where can you go on holiday these days that they allow smoking in hotel rooms? Outside of Asia, that is. I’m always amused on my visits to China just how pervasive smoking is and it reminds me that it was like that everywhere not so long ago.

  3. Chris – sadly the drawing is gone. It was an excellent one, though.

    Helen – I hope you are still spoiler free. The vacation did continue to be fun.

    Alan – There is a Holiday Inn in Rhode Island that allows smoking, and it seems they have very thin walls.

Leave a comment