What I’ve Learned from NaNoWriMo Thus Far

Well, I’m seven days into NaNoWriMo and I’ve learned a few things along the way already. I thought I’d share them with you this morning.

  1. 50,000 words is a LOT of words. I’ve written 13,000 words in seven days, and I feel like that’s pretty good. However I still have 37,000 words to go!
  2. It’s all about the numbers. You need to average 1,667 words a day to reach 50,000 by the end of the month. If you don’t hit that on one day, you’ll have to write more than 1,667 just to catch up. Miss two days, and it’s even worse.
  3. You will forget things – My main character acquired a sword, but for the next 5,000 words I forgot this little tidbit. I’ll have to fix that in the second draft.
  4. I’m learning how to write a novel. I’ve never come close to writing a novel before, but I’m learning so much about the process this month. It should be easier next time. I hope.
  5. I’m a writer – yes I feel comfortable finally calling myself a writer
  6. Writing a novel can be fun
  7. Writing a novel can be horrible
  8. I think this may kill me.

****EDIT***

Oh, I forgot one: Writing via the computer is the way to go for me.  I want to be one of those people who are able to write by hand in a notebook, and I tried that last year, but I realize I am not.  It’s just too convenient to be able to write on the computer, knowing I don’t have to type all that stuff in for draft 2.

15 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned from NaNoWriMo Thus Far

  1. it must be a great adventure, also. Now, you’re looking at it from the inside of things. And yes, points like #3 about the sword, oh, those make the ride even bumpier.
    If you get into the spheres of 30.000-40,000 words, there will /might be even more of those facts…
    I don’t know if re-reading helps..?
    Many others suggest NOT re-reading it.

  2. SzélsőFa – It is a great adventure. #3 is an annoyance, but I can fix that later, and maybe even use it to pad my total at the end. 30.000-40,000 is probably going to be worse. I have never been there.

  3. You are making me want to go back and restart my Na No as a short story, just for the fun of it, because it was such a fun beginning. Visiting other struggling writers blogging is extremely helpful and reassuring.

  4. Wow. It took me three years to figure out that you could write on a computer. Before that all my work was by hand, no joke. But, I have always counted you a writer!!! 😀 Anyway, I just want to let you know that 50000 words is a lot, because one of my 212 page stories was only that, I think and I was like, it has to be more than that! And that took me all summer. I don’t have the room to be writing almost 2000 words a day.
    If I had a hat, I would take it off to you.
    curbxstomp

  5. I can assure you that by the end of November you will be reduced to “fire bad, tree pretty” and even that will be a very ambitious way of voicing your thoughts. But hell, let’s admit it. The experience alone will teach you more than anything else. And in the end… IT might be all worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

