NaNoWriMo Excerpt

Well, a few of you have asked for an excerpt from my NaNoWriMo project, so here it is. Again, this is the first novel I have ever attempted to write, and this is also a rough draft, so I apologize in advance for the quality (the first couple sentences here are particularly garbled, but I will work on that later).

This excerpt is from the “fun stuff” I was writing yesterday. The setup is as follows: Art, our hero, has been captured and Merlo the young wizard and a young fairy named Awi (the Gyro vendor from earlier in the story who seems to have taken a liking to Art) are off to rescue him. Here it is. I hope you enjoy.

They stopped at a small clearing in the woods, situated conveniently near a small stream.  Merlo had spied the two moss covered boulders at the edge of the water from afar, figuring it would be the perfect spot for the travelers to sit upon and rest their tired feet. Merlo cursed his luck.  He had been well on his way towards a great adventure with an up and coming young hero, only to find himself stuck traveling with an adolescent fairy.

Merlo sat formulating a plan for their eventual daring rescue of Art.  It would surely be out of character for Merlo, a wizard, to be the one rescuing Art, the hero , but Merlo felt up to the challenge.

.

Awi walked to the stream, filled two cups with water from the stream, and handed one to Merlo. She sat down beside him and said, “Can I kiss you?”

“What?” said Merlo, blushing as he nearly fell of his rock.

“Can I kiss you?” replied Awi.

“Why would you want to do that?” asked Merlo.

Awi remained quiet for a moment and then said, “Well, I’ve never kissed anyone before and I figure if I’m going to win Arthur’s heart I’m going to need to be able to kiss, right? So, can I kiss you?”

“Why don’t you just practice kissing your hand?” said Merlo, pining for the days when his biggest worry was whether or not he would end up in the mouth of their friend the man-eating giant. “That always works.”

“I’ve tried that,” said Awi. “I don’t think it’s quite the same. I need a real person. Please?”

“I’m way too old for you,” said Merlo, grasping for any excuse he could think of, going with the best excuse of the bunch. “Besides, what makes you think I have any experience either?”

“I don’t care if you have experience,” Awi said. “I’m worried about me.”

“No,” said Merlo.

“No one will know,” said Awi. “Besides, when you are a hundred years old, I’ll be ninety-two. It really isn’t that big of an age difference.”

“Yeah,” said Merlo. “But when I was ten you were only two. “ He didn’t want to hurt the girl’s feelings, but he wanted less to be the creepy old wizard.

Awi and Merlo sat for a while after that, neither one saying anything, though Awi kept turning and looking at Merlo. Finally Merlo had endured enough. “What?” he said.

“I think you should shave,” said Awi, pointing at Merlo’s chin.

“Why would I do that?” said Merlo, half proud that someone had noticed his facial hair and half annoyed that Awi was giving him grooming advice.

“Well, you said before that you haven’t had much experience in the kissing department so I figured you might want some help,” said Awi.

“I’m a wizard,” answered Merlo. “All great wizards have beards. It’s part of the uniform, if you will.”

“Well, I hate to tell you, but you would look much better without it,” said Awi. “Not many of the great wizards had very many dates, did they?”

“Thanks for the tip,” was all that Merlo said in response. She did have a point, though. Of all the wizards he had known, he had never heard of any of them having wives. Merlo had always thought it was because they were always too busy helping heroes on their quests, but he supposed it could have been because of their beards.

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Excerpt

  1. Ha! Excellent! I laughed out loud at the last paragraph – wizards never have wives do they?
    If the scary bits are as good as the funny bits then you have a winner on your hands.

    If this is the quality of the stuff you were writing yesterday when you were tired and trying to catch up then it is fantastic stuff and you have nothing to worry about 🙂

  2. This is quite a sweet encounter between two of the characters – I don’t know exactly how it fits into the story except for what you’ve briefly mentioned in the post, but it seems like one of those bonding sessions characters have as the reader has a little time to pause and reflect on what’s going on. Funny stuff, keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

