A Day At the Museum

The day after Thanksgiving my wife, her dad, and I took my daughter to The Children’s Museum of Pittsburgh.  We had a lot of fun walking around and looking at all of the exhibits.  My daughter had a particular fun time playing with the train set they had.  Judging by the amount of kids lined up around it, I think everyone had fun with the trains.

The highlight of the trip, though was the WaterPlay floor.  Yep, an entire floor devoted to water.   When you first get there, they have little yellow rain slickers for the kids to wear and galoshes for their feet. My daughter’s slicker covered her entire body.  She was so cute shuffling her feet as she walked wearing that little rain coat.  They warned beforehand to have a change of clothes for the kids, but we decided to take our chances.  Below is a picture of the floor from the museum’s web site.

waterplay.jpg

The first thing we did is play in that pool of water floating the boats and making a whirlpool with the hand cranks.  She loved that.  This is when we noticed a little girl that was about my daughter’s age (1 1/2)  or a little younger being a little overzealous in the water, reaching just a bit too far down.  Her mom was watching, but I was closer.  Next thing you know, the little girl reached too far and was headed headfirst into the water.  I grabbed her just before she went in.  My good deed for the day I guess.

When we took our daughter’s rain slicker off her clothes were soaked.  We had no change of clothes so we improvised.  My wife took all of our daughter’s clothes off except for her diaper and we fashioned a “toga” out of one of her blankets.  We even had her say “toga, toga” like in the movie animal house.  It was pretty funny. While she was wearing her “toga” her grandfather and I dried her clothes using the wall of hand driers. Seriously, there was a wall of about thirty hand driers there for this purpose.

Anyhow, it was a fun trip and one of the highlights of my Thanksgiving.  See, I can write about something other than NaNoWriMo after all!

11 thoughts on “A Day At the Museum

  1. I can just imagine your little girl in a toga. Precious!

    Kids do love playing in the water, don’t they?! Sounds like a lovely Thanksgiving vacation. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Sounds like you all had a ball! What is it about kids and water? I remember some friends staying with us one Christmas and between us we had 4 kids aged 8 to 14.

    The day after Christmas, we were going out to a pub for lunch , and as we were early, we went for a walk on the beach. Within minutes all the kids were in the sea, soaking wet from the waist down and we had to wrap them in blankets and change my friends’ kids (the older two!) into their pyjamas before we could go and eat lunch. We did get some strange looks…and it was absolutely freezing too 🙂

  3. Sounds like a great day (and a good NaNo break).

    My son is 11 and the water thing, still holds. I can’t believe how long, he will hold that hose, and just shoot water up into the air, and down the drive-way, and make boggy areas, and puddles.

  4. I haven’t been to Pitt since I had to drive my sister home from CMU. I always thought it was a beautiful city for such a not beautiful name. The museums sounds wonderful. I love interactive displays like that which allow children to enjoy themselves.

  5. Pingback: Out And About With Their Children — Be A Good Dad

Leave a Reply

