Another Late Night

Well, it’s just after midnight and I’ve finally met my quota for the day.  I’m at around 43,300 words right now.  I’m up so late for a couple of reasons.  For one, my daughter didn’t fall asleep until 10:00,which seems to be the new norm. Yay.  Secondly, I stopped briefly to watch the last two minutes of the Steelers game, in which they defeated the lowly Dolphins 3-0. Yes, that was the final score of an American Football game.  And they call soccer low scoring. Sheesh!

I hope all of you who wanted to read an excerpt enjoyed what I posted yesterday.

I don’t really feel tired right now, but I suppose I should go to sleep.  I have to wake at 6:30 tomorrow morning as usual.

6 thoughts on “Another Late Night

  1. Thank you for the excerpt.
    I enjoyed it.
    Here’s what I think:

    The characters are realistic and natural. This is very important. The dialogue itself is kind of funny, in a ‘tickle/tease-me way’. This is in harmony with Awi being a fairy and a teenaged one, too.
    If, as I gather, this takes place before some sort of a final rescue, it is a brilliant counterpoint to all those fearful, and perhaps, sorrowful events. The harmony and love vs. agitation and excitement – a nice touch in your writing.

    Well done.

  2. There was a feature about NaNoWriMo on the BBC breakfast program this morning. I can’t find a replay of it for you but both these writing bloggers saw it and I thought you might be interested in their comments.

    http://neildixon.com/2007/11/27/nonowrimo-on-the-bbc/

    http://quillersplace.blogspot.com/

    I love the idea of groups of people meeting to write (independently) and making it a social thing to do and also getting school kids involved. Although imagining you, at the dead of night, beavering away all by yourself is the image that sticks in my head 🙂

  3. Thanks Diane. That’s interesting that it was featured on the BBC. I’ll check out those links, too.

    Id like to become involved with the social aspects, but as you know I just don’t have the time. And now, the beaver must get back to constructing his winter home 🙂

Leave a Reply

