48,775

It’s 11:30 PM and I am calling it a day at 48,775 words.  I could probably keep going, but I need some rest.  Barring a horrible setback, I’m going to actually finish this thing.  I can’t believe it.  My previous NaNoWriMo best was 14,000 words.  I never truly thought I would be this close.  I need to write 1225 words tomorrow.

Thank to everyone who commented on my previous post.  I read and appreciate all of your comments.  I will try to respond to them all tomorrow.  Thanks for letting me vent a little bit.

Good luck to all of you NaNoWriMo’ers.  You can do it!

12 thoughts on “48,775

  1. Shut up! Congratulations already…Way to go, dude! I tried signing on for the challenge but was gloriously stumped upon my 10K-something word. Argh! Good job there. Wish I’d have enough energy for the next round. Wanna share with me what you got? 😛

  2. relliott4 – It feels good, but I’m not letting my guard down until I hit the end. It will feel great when I’m there, though.

    Neil – Thanks! There’s always next year for you, right 🙂

    Emeniano Acain Somoza, Jr. – sorry, I can’t share my words, I barely have enough for myself 🙂

    SzélsőFa – The next step is to completely finish the novel. Then edit. Then give it to a few people to see if it is any good. Then shop it around. Then, if no one wants it but I still believe in it, self publish with Lulu. I will have to do a follow up post about my plans.

    Diane – I will be close to wrapping up the first draft. Don’t know if it will be totally complete or not. I do know I need to go back and clean up some things.

    Wayne – I give you 100% of the credit, yes 🙂

    Julie K. Rose – Thanks for the oranges. Reminds me of halftime at my soccer games when I was a kid when the parents gave us kids oranges!

  3. You are so close, you have to keep going.
    You can do it! You can do it! You can do it!

    Please do tell us how you will/plan to continue on with your story (or if you are just about at the end), as I am concerned about how I will get there myself, and could use your insights.

    by the bye,
    Are you going to do the word count scramble thingy? I was happy with not bothering, but now as it seems everyone else is bothering, I worry it may seem as though I have a more devious reason than laziness, and not thinking it matters.

  4. Taffiny – I took care of the duplicate comments. I don’t know what happened. It’s OK though. It makes me feel more popular with more comments 🙂

    I’ll write about my plans and next step.

    I’m not going to worry about the scramble. It’s just not worth the hassle to me.

Leave a Reply

