My Entry for Weirdly Contest

I just thought I’d post my entry for Bernita’s contest here. This is what immediately came to my mind when I saw the picture. My mind works in strange ways. I hope you enjoy. Click here to see the picture that was my inspiration for this (and the contest).

Looks Are Deceiving

“Just look at her over there,” scoffed Wildelma under her breath. “She’s so full of herself.”

“Who is?” said Braidhedge.

“You know darn well who I’m talking about,” said Wildelma. “Over there with her limbs all puffed up. I bet they’re not even real.”

“Most definitely,” said Braidhedge, unsure she had heard of false limbs, but not wanting to start a disagreement.

That was one thing she had learned early on in her life as a tree: don’t anger your neighbors because it’s not as if you can just get up and move to a different spot. “You think they’re implants?”

“I don’t know what they are, but have you seen all those men fiddling around over there lately?” said Wildelma.

“I doubt they’re there for the acorns, if you know what I mean.”

“Scandalous,” said Braidhedge. She had neither noticed any humans nearby nor did she have the faintest idea what Wildelma was talking about.

“I just don’t know why no one ages gracefully anymore,” said Wildelma. “It’s just shameful.”

“I blame it on Hollywood,” said Braidhedge, proud she had added to the discussion.

“If I wasn’t so nice I’d give her a piece of my mind,” said Wildelma. “She’s making the rest of us proper ladies look bad.”

“It doesn’t take much to make you look bad,” said Hollytrunk from across the forest. “Your mouth does that for you. And by the way, they’re real and they’re spectacular.”

Wildelma and Braidhedge were silent the rest of the day.

10 thoughts on “My Entry for Weirdly Contest

  1. SzF – thanks! I was having trouble with names of the trees. It was first written as Tree1, Tree2, and Tree3. I used a name generator as inspiration to the names you see in the story. I’m glad you liked it 🙂

  2. ouh, a name genarator…
    I’ve heard of those and have tried my name to be distorted to become a Japanese dancer/Harry Potter character, and all that other stuff.
    That you needed a name generator somehow surprises me, though.
    Given the fantasy you have….
    But sometimes we all need some *extra* this and that.

  3. BTW; do you happen to know the original names of ents in Tolkien’s LOTR trilogy?
    I have read it in Hungarian, you know… and their Hungarian names are really, really great, but…I’d love to see the original ones, too.
    Can you help me?

  4. SzélsőFa – sorry I disappointed you. I did modify what the generator gave me. I’m just not very good with names.

    As far as the names of the Ents goes, one is named Treebeard. Others are Leaflock, and Skinbark. That’s all I could find. I don’t know any of the Entwives’ names.

  5. SzélsőFa – there are Entwives, though they don’t have any adventures in the books. They are mentioned but don’t appear.

    Vesper – Thank you! I really appreciate it. I had a lot of fun writing that one.

Leave a Reply

