Bunny Tail

My daughter finally seems to be feeling better. Last night my wife was even able to leave the house last night for a little jog and some much needed time alone without my daughter bawling hysterically (seriously, when my daughter was sick my wife couldn’t even leave the room without my daughter melting down into pleas of “Mamma holdie!”). That meant I was in charge of my daughter and the night’s play (or at least that half hour’s play). Let’s just say we had a grand time.

We started off by reading a book, Mr Brown Can Moo, Can You? by Dr. Seuss, which is probably the most fun of the Seuss books to read aloud, as there are a lot of rhymes and sounds in the book. My daughter made it to the end of the book, which was great also.

Next, I steered her towards “her drawer”, which is the only drawer in the kitchen she is allowed to play in. This drawer contains wooden spoons, and various plastic measuring cups that double as hats and drinking bowls for her animals. She loves that drawer.

My daughter has this little blue bunny that I make dance for her. I have named the bunny “Peter Cottontail” and have him sing the whole song for her: “Here comes Peter Cottontail, hopping down the bunny trail, hippity hoppity, Easter’s on its wayyyyyyy.” Yes, I sing this even in December. You have to see this bunny. If the bunny is three inches tall, two of those inches are ears. When I make him dance, the ears go flying everywhere. She LOVES it.

Anyhow, that’s how my daughter and I spent our time together last night. She has taken to calling “Peter Cottontail” “Bunny Tail” which I think is even cuter. At one point last night, she was stirring two measuring cups together, as if she was baking something. I asked (or Peter Cottontail asked her, I can’t remember) her what it was and she said very definitively, “hamburgers”. Now, she has probably only eaten hamburgers once in her life, but that was on her mind, I guess.

Finally, I received this picture of my daughter and I from a co-worker yesterday. It’s of us in our Halloween costumes. She was a ballerina.

daughteranddaddahalloween.jpg

PS Hoodie gave me an award yesterday that I need to write a post about. I will get to that soon!

12 thoughts on “Bunny Tail

  1. When my son was about your daughter’s age we also made a special drawer for him. We selected all the harmless, yet interesting kitchen tools into that drawer and let him just play. It occupied him for quite a long time!

  2. I want one! As adorable as my two boys are/were, I still would have liked a little girl. I shall just have to wait for grandchildren……eek! maybe not yet though!

    Glad she is on the mend.

  3. Glad your daughter is better. And also that your wife got a bit of time to herself.

    Great picture of the two of you.

    It like being able to put faces to names. When I don’t have any, and I am reading blog stories (which often do not include any physical description), I get very blurry people-ish images moving about in my mind.

  4. Hoodie – Other people have said that too. “You look just like I might imagine you to look” – by that you mean Brad Pitt’s better looking twin brother, right?

    Yeah, I know. My daughter most likely gets her good looks from her mom 🙂

  5. Actually, I can see a similarity between you and your daughter. I love her outfit, especially the little shoes!

    Heh heh, hamburgers, that is so cute! They are little darlings at this age… except when they scream all night… I am having trouble keeping my eyes open as I write this and it’s only 6.50am. Someone is yelling orders at me, better go. I’m glad your little girl is on the mend.

Leave a Reply

