Sad News From Terry Pratchett

Well, I’m nearly finished with my Shameless Lion award post, but came across this bit of news that I felt the need to print. My favorite living author, Terry Pratchett, has been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimers.  Here is his statement which he says should be interpreted as “I am not dead”.

I’m not one to really post negative news in the gossipy way some people do, saying “Look at me, I’ve got this terrible news to tell everyone.” I simply know a few of you are Pratchett fans and might want to know about this.

My hope for him is that this is a slow moving form of Alzheimers and that he has as many quality years left as possible. I could not fathom what he and his family must be going through right now.

*Sigh*

6 thoughts on “Sad News From Terry Pratchett

  1. It’s such a shock to hear about that. He even managed to make his statement humorous… I really admire him. I can’t imagine what he and his family must be going through either. It just goes to show, we should treasure each day, no matter what we feel.

  2. This would be bad news for anyone, but somehow it’s even sadder when such a disease affects someone who has built worlds of words… I hope it will be clement on him…

  3. This would be bad news for anyone, but somehow it’s even sadder when such a disease affects someone who has built worlds of words… I hope it will be clement on him…

  4. Oh, that’s a shame. Both my son and husband LOVE Prachett’s novels. It’s a terrible disease. A researcher at my university has discovered, by the way, the beneficial effect of daily apple juice in warding off Alzheimers. Oh, and another guy discovered that eggs are good for protecting against macular degeneration.

    There are new discoveries all of the time in medicine and science. Let’s hope for the best.

  5. writinggb – Those are interesting breakthroughs. My grandmother had macular degeneration and I’m afraid it runs in the family. I’ll tell my dad about the egg thing. The only problem is we are both allergic to eggs!

Leave a Reply

