A Roar for Powerful Words

I’ve been awarded the A Roar For Powerful Words Award from The Shameless Lions Writing Circle. Thank you to Szelsofa and Hoodie for giving me this award. It really does mean a lot to me.

roarlargelighter.jpg

Three things necessary to make writing good and powerful

  1. Take me somewhere else – When I read, I read to escape. I don’t mind stories about every day things, but I would much rather have a story take me to a new world, or a place on this world that I didn’t know existed, or on a grand adventure. These are the stories that get my attention, that make me feel alive.
  2. Make me laugh – I like to laugh.  It makes me feel good, whether it be on the radio, on television, or while I’m reading a book.  This goes with the whole take me someplace else thing.  If you are having a bad day, what better way to feel better than to laugh?  Don’t get me wrong, I like a good, well-written story.  It is just an added bonus if it makes me smile.
  3. The Good Guy Wins – Sometimes the world stinks. It just does. People do bad things to each other and they often get away with it (I’m looking at you Bush Administration). The last thing I want from my entertainment is for the wrong people to get their way as if often happens in the real world. I’m not saying everything has to be easy for the “good guy”. Maybe one of the “good guys” even dies. That is fine as long as the “good guy wins” in the end.

And now, I offer this award to:

  • Julie K. Rose – If you love words, you will love her blog. She offers up words regarding myth, folklore & symbolism daily on her blog. Every week she has a weekly podcast titled the Word-Hoard in which she defines a unique word and encourages listeners to use it in a sentence. Great fun. If you are into folklore and fantasy things, you should check out her blog.
  • Helen Parocha – She is a writer and a mom and if you read her blog you can see the influence of both. Her posts are often funny but also so well written, she makes me jealous! She is also an award winning author, winning the Children’s Book Council of Australia NSW’s Frustrated Writers’ Mentoring Competition in 2006. Stop on over there, you will like what you read.
  • BeAGoodDad – Mike’s blog deals with parenthood in general, but also with other issues such as Autism (his son has Autism). Most it’s about being a good dad, something I strive for every day.
  • Much of a muchness – Diane creates books, which I think is a writer’s dream hobby. She doesn’t just make books, though. She makes beautiful, lovely, books.
  • Others that have already been mentioned. There are others that have already been awarded elsewhere, so I won’t give the award to them again. Just so you know, though, I love the work you do on your blogs as well.
8 thoughts on “A Roar for Powerful Words

  1. Thank you, Struggling Writer! That has made my day. I’ve had a bit of a trying week and visited your blog for nice break – I was so astonished to see my name! This has cheered me up so much. I’ve also finished my map at long last, thanks to your encouragement last month. I’m hoping to post it right now, if a certain person stays asleep!

  2. What a surprise! Thank you so much!
    I am LOVING the purple lion – very groovy!
    I make my books so that other people can fill them with powerful words so I am accepting this vicariously. 🙂

  3. Helen – I’m sorry you had a rough week (though I thought you might be since you hadn’t blogged). It makes me feel really good that something I wrote here was able to cheer you up a bit.

    Diane – No problem. You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

