The Weekend that Wizz

Saturday, my wife, my daughter, and I took a little trip to Barnes and Noble (yay books!) to pick up a present for my Dad. As we were walking out to the car, we saw one of our neighbors that has been living just across the road from us for over a year, but whom we really hadn’t talked to before. We have tried, and even waved a few times, but never really got a response. Well this time we said hello and remarked on his new Jeep (it was still emblazoned with 2004 sticker on the windshield), but was still new to him. In response he offered a smile and an invitation to a party they were having that night. Without thinking I said something like “We’ll be there.” We then got in the car and went to Barnes and Noble.

My daughter fell asleep on the five mile drive and my wife and I took turns carrying her through the store. Did you ever notice kids seem to gain weight when they are asleep? It seems the weight of a child is inversely proportional to their level of alertness: a wide awake kid isn’t very heavy but a kid so sound asleep she is snoring weighs a thousand pounds.

Anyhow, we picked up a book for my Dad and in the meantime I had to force myself not to buy a book for me. I noticed a particularly interesting one titled Diaries 1969-1979: The Python Years. The book is written by Michael Palin from Monty Python and is taken from the diaries he has kept over the years. This one seems immensely interesting. I may be getting it from my sister for Christmas. Let’s keep our fingers crossed 🙂 .

When we got back from Barnes and Noble, my wife wanted to go straight over to the party. I started to panic. It’s just so intimidating to me to go over to someone’s house like that, even if we were invited. My wife assured me we would only go for a few minutes and then return home. We stayed for over an hour.

Chalk it up to Christmas spirit, I guess. We found our neighbors to be very friendly and the types of people I think we would hang out with more often. They went out of their way to help us feel welcome, even though we were the only outsiders to their group of friends. I am so glad we went over there.

On the writing front, I got a bit of a mention on Bernita’s blog the other day. She mentioned that her editor had read the contest entries and “She was also highly complimentary of entries # 6 (Charles Gramlich ), # 21 ( Jamie Smitten), # 10 ( StrugglingWriter), and # 12 ( Ric) “. How cool is that?

Well, that’s all from me. A gold star to anyone who made it to the end of this rambling entry 🙂

11 thoughts on “The Weekend that Wizz

  1. I laughed because it always seems like I’m forgetting the stroller when I absolutely will need it and end up carrying a tired body somewhere.

    And congrats on the recognition! I thought your piece was great!

  2. It is great to be on familiar terms with your neighbours. As a foreigner here in my neighbourhood, I know what it takes to be accepted, and what it means. Merry Christmas.

  3. I am jealous that your daughter will sleep while you’re out! I’ve spent most of today having to go to places, then racing home with Kiko bawling his head off. Whenever we go into a bookshop he starts yelling: “CAKE!” at the top of his voice and going mad to go to the cafe. Come to think of it, I may have encouraged that one…

    You know, our sane neighbours seem really nice, I often wish we could get to know them better (especially as they’re always cooking delicious-smelling food!)

  4. First of all…
    *grabs her gold star*

    Congratulations to that honor in the contest!

    Sleeping people are heavier b/c their muscles are relaxed. It is very strange, though.

  5. Ello – Yeah, I totally got heat for forgetting the stroller. We could’ve stayed longer if I brought it.

    Wayne – Merry Christmas to you.

    Helen – It’s much better for us if she doesn’t sleep, actually. We would’ve had fun looking at the kid’s books and playing with the trains rather than carrying her around. She likes the book store.

    SzélsőFa – Thanks for the gold star 🙂

  6. Glad you enjoyed the party – it’s good to have nice neighbours. I have one lot who are really kind and nice and one ogre who is horrid!

    Congrats on your well deserved compliments and thank you for the gold star – of course I read to the end… it’s always worth reading 🙂

  7. Oh a gold star for me!

    Wow that is cool about the editor, blog thing.

    I am invited (by mail flyer invitation) to a neighbor’s house on Friday for luncheon. Though I have the address, (I still haven’t found the house in my cul-de-sac) and I know not which neighbor this is, as it only has her last name on it (and no photo, or helpful discription like, the lady with the big grey dogs, or the perky blond woman). I am very nervous about going, and keep changing my mind. I do not do well socially, so tend to avoid social occasions, especially those that I have to take on by myself.

    I am glad you went, and that you had such a good time at your neighbor’s house, and found people you would like to hang out with.

  8. And a gold star for me!

    About two years ago we went to Boston for a few days and… we didn’t even think of taking the stroller with us! My husband and I took turns in carrying our youngest daughter, who was two at the time, all over the place. It was excruciating! 🙂

    Congratulations for being mentioned by the editors on Bernita’s blog. It’s really a good story!

Leave a Reply

