The Clockwork Jungle Book – Steampunk Writing Opportunity

I came across a pretty interesting writing opportunity yesterday and thought I would share it here. Shimmer Magazine, a critically acclaimed online speculative fiction magazine which some of you might remember me mentioning when they had their Pirate themed issue, is asking for submissions for another themed issue. The issue is to be titled The Clockwork Jungle Book and in their words “We’re looking to explore the steampunk sub-genre through a series of short, succinct fables, preferably using a variety of animals to give the issue a particular feel and theme.” The deadline for submissions is Feb. 29th, 2008 and the maximum word count is 3,500 words. Accepted stories will be paid at one cent per word. Here is a link to their guidelines.

For those of you not sure what Steampunk is, here is a good description Shimmer posted on their site:

Steampunk is a sub-genre of speculative fiction in dialogue with the Victorian period and Victoriana (though not exclusively), and much of its energy, fun and sense-of-wonder stems from the juxtaposition of Victorian values and a Victorian world-view with advancements in technology that have occurred ahead of their time (i.e. the computer age has developed concurrently with the industrial age). Much of this technology will in fact be “retro-technology”; a device that has the same use or output as its modern counterpart (or indeed science-fictional counterpart) but will be built using the materials and aesthetics of the time.

An excellent blog on all things Steampunk is Brass Goggles.

I already have a pretty solid story idea and am really going to try to submit something this time.  As always, I’ll probably get all excited, write a few hundred words, and then move on to the next exciting thing. I hope not, though.

11 thoughts on “The Clockwork Jungle Book – Steampunk Writing Opportunity

  1. OOOO! That sounds kinda cool. I’ve never entered a contest before. I wonder if I’d be too hung up on maintaining the authenticity of the Victorian stuff to finish a story (since I am a Victorian scholar, by training). Hmmm. At the very least I just HAVE to read what people submit. 🙂

    Thansk for the heads up!

  2. writinggb – I would be interested to see what you come up with. I am not a Victorian scholar, so I will have to do some research (or make everything up).

    Also, it’s not a contest, but rather a whole issue devoted to this, so there will be more than one story selected.

  3. Hey there. Thanks for stopping by my blog. And congrats on the recognition by the Wild Child editor. This sounds like a neat opportunity. I’ve never written Steampunk, but I’ve enjoyed a few of the stories. Good luck with your entry.

  4. Thanks Jaye. I have been by your blog before, but I guess this was the first time I commented. Thanks for stopping by here as well 🙂

    Also, thanks for the good luck wishes. Right now I’m trying to draw a picture of the steampunk animal from my entry.

  5. Have read your post, thanks for providing helpful info on what steampunk is, that said, I have not the slightest clue what steampunk is. Victorian, future, retro, concurrent technology with animals. Yeah, okay, uh, you do that, I’ll watch.

  6. Good luck with your story!
    Thank you for the definition of steampunk – I had no idea what it was. Seems interesting but I guess you really have to be into this to be able to write a story.

  7. I’ve always been really interested in the idea of Steampunk in games and movies, but I’ve never read anything from the genre. I’ll be interested in seeing the results of the contest. Maybe I’ll have a go at it too.

  8. Pingback: En Writing « The Struggling Writer

Leave a Reply

