The Fairy Tales of J.K. Rowling

talesofbeedlethebard.jpg

For those who are interested, I did not pass out at my hockey game last night. In fact, I felt pretty good. I guess my body was recovered enough from giving blood that it wasn’t a problem. Maybe all the Christmas cookies and goodies I consumed during work helped!

Remember that new story last week about that book, J.K. Rowling’s The Tales of Beedle the Bar, of which only seven copies were made? The one that was bought at auction for $4 million with the proceeds going to charity? Well, the secret buyer turned out to be Amazon.com and they have posted some pictures and excerpts from the book on the web. A warning to all of you book lovers out there: You may drool.

The book is handwritten, beautifully bound, and even contains drawings by the author.  Check out the pictures.  They are wonderful.  There are also excerpts from the text.

My hope is that Ms. Rowling someday decides to release these tales either in book form or electronically.  We’ll see if that ever happens.  In the meantime, we can look at the pictures and wonder what is inside.

13 thoughts on “The Fairy Tales of J.K. Rowling

  1. I followed the link and have read some of the topics of discussion about the book as well. It was interesting to see so many different ideas about Rowling’s writing style, characters. Oh yes, and there were some people talking about this very book as well.
    I liked the cover and the paper itself.
    But that marker?
    I like green very much, but this just does not match the look and value of the whole book.
    Hm?

  2. I rather like it. I think the whole book is a little gem and I covet it greatly….

    Personally, I don’t like writing with blue ink – I only use black, but that’s just one of (many)idiosyncrasies 🙂

  3. There’s something about the feel of a REAL book that I love. I just can’t imagine ever really getting into e-books. Maybe for newspapers and magazines, but with books, I want the heft, the feel of the paper…. And a hand-written manuscript is so cool. I’ve seen an original Beowulf in the British Library in London plus some manuscripts of Canterbury Tales by Chaucer. It is so awe-inspiring to see these in prson.

  4. These books are truly treasures. I can only hope that when Amazon takes it on tour, they will stop at a school or library near me– I’d love to see it “in person”!

    The tale “The Fountain of Fair Fortune” is my favorite. I laughed out loud when she said that “Babbity Rabbity and Her Cackling Stump” is “the stupidest title ever written by man or beast.” She never expected to have to create a story to go with that title when she named that story in one of the early Harry Potter books!

    And, about Szelsofa’s comment, knowing how particular Jo is, I’d guess that she chose green for a reason. It was the color of Harry’s eyes (and slytherin…)?!

  5. Oh, (by way of Berntia’s comment) green, the color of Harry’s eyes, and Slytherin. How could I be so daft as to miss that, all those words, all those books, and such obvious mention of his eyes, and I never saw/made a connection?
    Taff hits self over head with green pen.

  6. Pingback: Tales of Beedle the Bard to Be Published « The Struggling Writer

Leave a Reply

