Back in the Saddle

Well, today is my first day back at work. I had a hard time waking up this morning, but I did make it in on time. I have a slight head cold, but nothing too bad. I hope that with my return to work I am also able to return to writing, something I haven’t done much of in the past week or so. We shall see.

I was able to relax yesterday and actually had a pretty nice day. We did indeed watch the outdoor hockey game (The Winter Classic) and even wound up having a few friends over to watch with us. As my wife said, it’s nice to have people over to the house now and again. My wife put out some snacks, and we all enjoyed each other’s company as we watched the game.

In case you are interested, my team the Pittsburgh Penguins won the game in a shootout. Below is a YouTube of the shootout. Even if you aren’t interested in the game, check it out to see the conditions they were playing in. It snowed most of the game, which must have made handling the puck difficult (imagine trying to kick a ball through a inch or two of snow, the thing just has a tendency to stick there, right?).

4 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle

  1. Sounds like fun. I love hockey. I don’t even want to know how difficult it will be for me to get up in the morning. But, I only have two days of school this week, and then I can recuperate this weekend. Have fun!
    kaelie curbxstomp

  2. Didn’t get to watch the game because I was working, so thanks for sharing the clip! I lived in Edmonton when they did the Heritage Classic outdoor game a few years ago. The kids had a road hockey tournament as part of the weekend’s festivities, too — they blocked off a street in downtown and the kids had a blast. It was near -30 the whole weekend, though, so it was really a weekend for diehard players/fans only! It was great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

