Dr. Who

I hope you all had a fine weekend. Mine went pretty well. I had a hockey game Saturday morning, which went well, and for the most part tried to give my wife some time to catch up on scrapbooking and relaxation (she caught up a bit on the scrapbooking, but didn’t really relax). Once our daughter went to bed, my wife and I watched a few episodes of the third series of Dr. Who (we’re watching it of DVD, on loan from a co-worker).

tennantdoc.jpg

For those of you who don’t know, here is a description of Dr. Who from wikipedia:

Doctor Who is a long-running, award-winning British science fiction television programme produced by the BBC. The programme depicts the adventures of a mysterious time-traveller known as “the Doctor” who travels in his space- and time-ship, the TARDIS, which appears from the exterior to be a blue police phone box. With his companions, he explores time and space, solving problems and righting wrongs.

The picture above is of the current Doctor (the 10th incarnation of the Doctor, played by actor David Tennant). This is the only season I’ve seen of Doctor Who, but I’m really enjoying it. I think the two actors playing the leads, David Tennant as the Doctor and Freema Agyeman playing Martha Jones, really make it for me. It’s just a good, smart, funny, sometimes dark, show.

Anyone else out there watch Doctor Who, either this current version or previous ones? I’d like to hear about it.

Finally, my first writing group meeting is tonight. I have shared my Chapter 1 with a few of the members. I hope they like it. I’ll give you all an update about how things go tomorrow.

17 thoughts on “Dr. Who

  1. I’ve watch Doctor Who since I was a teenager— I think they were on the Fifth Doctor then, played by Tom Baker. This new series I’ve watched all three seasons, about every episode. I liked both the Ninth Doctor (Christopher Eccleston) and the Tenth (David Tennant) but my favorite character was Rose, the Doctor’s companion in the first two seasons.

    I’ve noticed in the new series they seem to have a much bigger budget than they did in the old days, they do outdoor shoots in London (which my mom likes watching).

    And by the way, I hope your writing group went well.

    nissa-loves-cats
    http://linalamont.blogspot.com

  2. Of course I watch Dr Who! Classic television. David Tennant and Freema Agyeman are the best pairing I’ve seen for the Doctor and his companion so far (especially Tennant – I think he’s such a talented actor and extremely yummy to boot).

    Good luck with the feedback from your writing group.

  3. Oh, you must watch the series with Christopher Eccleston as Nine. So. Good. Sometimes I just want to slap David Tennant, or maybe give him a valium or something. Calm down, man, calm down! I’m all about the angsty characters, though, so Nine’s perfect for that.

    Good luck with your writing group tonight!!

  4. The Doctor rocks. Tom was the fourth Doctor, many consider his performance definitive and both Eccelston and Tennant borrow elements from him – Tom’s a nice chap in real life though completely barking.

    Peter Davison was the fifth doctor, the first I’m old enough to remember being broadcast the first time round.

    And I don’t know what’s worse, that I know that or that I was unable to resist commenting.

    🙂

  5. I LOVE Doctor Who. Christopher Ecclestone was fab, David Tennant is better still. Christmas special with Kylie Minogue was fantastic.

    But what about ‘Torchwood’ (anagram of Doctor Who – gettit?) the spin off series with the luscious John Barrowman as Captain Jack? Have you heard of that? It is amazingly good. A sort of grown up version of Doctor Who, with a bit of sex and a lot more violence, and scary monsters on the loose in Cardiff – it is fantastic!

    Try and get it on DVD – a new series starts tomorrow here in the UK. Martha from Dr Who 10 is going to be in it. Are we there yet?!

  6. I am going to watch Dr. Who now, because y’all make it sound so interesting. Hey, SW, let me know how that writing group goes. I have been chewing on the idea of a writing group for months, but I have yet to take the leap, because it will be quite a fall if it doesn’t work out for me. Goodness knows that when things go bad for me, they go really, really bad. 😀 All’s well here! Hope you are well!
    curbxstomp

  7. By the way, on the hockey thing. My friend’s hockey game was on Sunday, and I sat in the ice rink for almost three hours. I thought my fingers were going to fall off it’s so cold. I much rather watch hockey on tv now, because you need a heater, scarf, gloves, parka, and blankets to keep warm in that place. (Trust me, me and another spectator had a lengthy disussion about this.)
    curbxstomp

  8. Another fellow Doctor Who fan – there should be a Who social network!

    Anyway, yep, the Ninth Doctor is great, but when you compare Series 1 (new) to Series 3 (new) you can really tell that the quality and budget has been upped. I really like Tennant personally. He’s just a warmer character and rounder (emotionally, not physically!)

    And Torchwood is fantastic. Series Two starts tomorrow and I’m bouncing off the walls. Captain Jack is such an enigmatic character and wait until you see Series Three of Doctor Who (not giving too much away) for some revelations.

    Oh, by the way, I chuck Who related posts on my blog regularly if you want some more gossip.

    RyanAJarrett

  9. Neil – thanks for commenting! I wish I had seen some of the earlier Dr. Who, just so I could take part in the who is the better Doctor conversation.

    Diane – I haven’t seen Torchwood, but have heard about it. I’m not sure if it is playing here any time, but if my co-worker offers me the DVDs I’ll surely watch them.

    curbxstomp – it is very cold in the hockey arena for spectators. while i’m playing i’m quite hot, but i know my wife and daughter are probably Popsicles by the time the game is over.

    Ryan Jarrett – thanks for stopping by. I’ll check out your blog.

    SzélsőFa – I’ll write about that today.

    Vesper – No problem 🙂

Leave a Reply

