Would You Really Want Me in Charge?

My wife had a get together last night, leaving me in charge of the care and well being of our daughter. Before you ask, we both survived the night without and serious physical or emotional damages, thank you very much. We watched a little Garfield Christmas special (her favorite) when my wife first left the house, in order to stave off any “Mamma Holdie” meltdowns. That worked quite well. In fact, here is a clip from the show. Quality stuff:

After that we played with some Legos, danced to some of Elton John’s Crocodile Rock (thank God there is no audio or video of this), and she staged every single one of her stuffed animals on the television stand. It was extremely cute. She did this with nearly no light in the room, as I was trying to get her to fall asleep.

I didn’t mention this before, but Monday, for the first time ever, I was able to get my daughter to sleep by reading her a book. This is usually my wife’s job, as she prefers my wife for this and I just don’t have “the touch”. After Monday, I thought I had things all figured out. Not quite. She finally did fall asleep on my lap (at around 10:15 PM) while I was reading her a book, but this was only after an hour of “No Dadda”.

Once she was finally asleep, I watched an episode of Doctor Who (the one where they are stuck on a ship, hurtling towards the sun and only 42 minutes until their doom). It was a great episode.

On the writing front, the steampunk story is going well. I have maybe 500 or 600 quality words of the story so far. I also have two versions of the story, because I’m not yet sure where it should begin. I think I like one approach better, but I need to write a little more just to be sure.

And that is all from me. Good day!

11 thoughts on “Would You Really Want Me in Charge?

  1. Sounds like you had a ball…I like the sound of the dancing!

    What was the book? I found ‘War and Peace’ was very good at sending my boys to sleep.

    Only joking, it used to send me to sleep 🙂 (Actually, it’s a great book, I have read it several times and really enjoyed it. Battle of Borodino – marvellous.)

    Glad your steam punk story is progressing well.

  2. That’s so cute! Your daughter would get on well with Kiko. He loves taking care of his toy animals too and they have to accompany him everywhere. Now that his Daddy is back in Australia, I am getting some practice reading him his bedtime stories but I am definitely the inferior option in his eyes. He prefers Dadda!

  3. Look out . . . you may have a permanent job pretty soon! I was always the preferred one for everything, but for the past year or so it’s been all daddy. While I miss being the preferred parent sometimes (maybe it’s just and ego thing) it is awfully nice to not be the one having my name called at 3am. 🙂

  4. Congrats on reading daughter to sleep. My son never fell asleep after a story. Glad you are learning how.

    Glad to hear/read that your steampunk is going well.

    I have never seen an episode of Dr. Who.
    Are you shocked?
    Well I did manange to see most of something else this weekend that people can’t believe I have never seen before, The Godfather. Sadly I saw it out of order, and am still missing the early middle.

Leave a Reply

