Just the Three of Us

My home life has been going through a subtle change the past few months, a change that has been hard to notice when it was happening, but one that is quite obvious now that I look back on things. Let me explain.
For the longest time, it has felt that there were two people living in my house, my wife and myself, and it felt this way even after our daughter was born. To be honest a baby really doesn’t do much. They eat. They sleep (if you’re lucky). They pop. If they are in a really good mood they might smile at you or say your name. This will make you feel like the king (or queen) of the Universe. Still, they’re just kinda there.

These past few months have been different. My daughter, who is now a year and a half (20 months to all you parents out there), has really been putting concepts together. She tells jokes, completes sentences, puts Hello Kitty stickers all over the house (including my dress shirt I wear to work, which I of course forget about until a co-worker spots it), and tells us what she wants. It is such a fun, brilliant, wonderful time. It truly feels like our little house now has three people living there.

In the mornings I usually wake first, get my shower, and then either wake my wife for her shower, or switch kid-watching duties with her because our daughter has already awakened her. My daughter watches The Wiggles on TV while I try get ready for work, trying to transform my hair from “oh dear lord, what is that thing growing/not growing on his head” to the much more presentable “I feel sorry for him” look. A cute thing she has been doing lately has been to pat the bed beside her and say “Dadda, sit”, wanting me to watch The Wiggles with her. Her favorite characters are Jeff (“Wake up Jeff!”) and Wags the Dog.

jeffwiggle.jpg

Anyhow, I guess this post doesn’t really have a point. I just wanted to say that I’m in a good place, even if my writing is not.

11 thoughts on “Just the Three of Us

  1. πŸ™‚

    sounds wonderful. It is great that you are taking the time to notice and appreciate the ever evolving dynamic(or some wording like that), as your little one grows. The true forming of your family.
    The first year goes the slowest, but from then on, each year passes faster than the one before it. I can’t believe I am mom to a middle schooler! So it is well worth breathing in deeply, of what is magical, to each stage. I was always tired, when Cheese was little, and eager for the next stage, when maybe, just maybe he would sleep, et. cetera. But now, now it is all going by too fast. Now I want it to just slow down, maybe even stop for a bit, so I can be here for awhile.
    You seem to be fully enjoying every stage as you are in it. A true blessing for you, and for your family.
    Glad your family life is good, real good.

  2. I envy you all the good times to come. Watching your children grow up, develop and become lovely grown up people is the biggest joy. My boys are 25 and 21 but I still remeber when they were your daughter’s age and each stage since then, I remember thinking ‘I like this stage best’ – until the next one came along!

    Kids are a total joy and I’m glad you are enjoying yours.

  3. Aw. How cute. My sister isn’t yet forming coherent words. She says names, but you can barely tell. Backyardigans and the Wiggles are constantly on the tv.
    Curbxstomp
    p.s. Thanks for answering my question!

  4. Jaye – I don’t keep the CD on in the car, but the songs still stick in my head throughout the day and I find myself singing them in meetings and whatnot. I take it you speak from experience πŸ™‚

  5. Hello, I’m Curb’s fellow blogging friend. I’d like to comment that my one friend who has a wife and daughter as well sees it slightly differently. He says his daughter (now 11 months old) is already a person. She has her own space (more than his) and has her own thoughts (which she shares). It’s adorable ^-^
    Your daughter sounds just as cute. I find that no child can fail to subdue me. What’s mine is theirs…
    I have to admit though…Jeff scared me when I scrolled down. The Wiggles is a little too much for me. I find it difficult to keep up with all the new shows coming out (hehe, I wonder why) but I have to say, I miss the old Steve on Blues Clues and the other shows. What’s the creepy show with the little rainbow bouncing babies with a baby alien-like head? I don’t know, but I sometimes fear the “new educational shows.” I prefer the good old violent morning cartoons (Tom and Jerry). πŸ˜‰

    ~Wingedhamham~

  6. Jeff is my favourite Wiggle too! Your daughter has good taste. (Did you ever think, a couple of years ago, you would know any of the Wiggles’ names, let alone have a favourite?!) We’ve got really into The Singing Kettle here in Scotland. Kikzy won’t watch TV (bah! says Mammy) but he will listen to CDs so that gives me five minutes’ peace!

  7. We had a wake up Jeff moment earlier today with our daughter. It was my turn for a lay in today, and my wife sent out daughter in to say, ‘wake up dadda’, and of course once I was up it quickly became, ‘Wake up, Jeff!” Fun times.

  8. I loved that period of realization, too. I’m glad you’re enjoying this time with your daughter.

    On the writing front, I feel the same way right now. I think my story is just stale from beating it to death for so long. I’m considering starting a new project to peak my interest again and maybe come back to this one later.

Leave a Reply

