Where Are My Ice Skates?

Well, I nearly fell on my butt several times this morning, just attempting to walk to my car to go to work. It’s hard enough to have to go to the office every morning without having to risk my life for it. Apparently we got quite a bit of freezing rain last night because everything was coated in a sheet of ice that is undetectable until you step on it, at which point your feet get the bright idea they want to be in the air rather than planted on the Earth.

All I was trying to do was put some rock salt down so my daughter and wife wouldn’t trip on the ice. Luckily, each time I felt myself fall I was able to catch my self. It was close, though.

I attempted to be a good citizen and watch the State of the Union address. I made it this far: “Madam Speaker, Vice President Cheney, Members of Congress, distinguished guests, and fellow citizens: Seven years have passed since I first stood before you at this rostrum. In that time, our country has been tested in ways none of us could have imagined” . I switched it off after that. It’s not worth the increase in my blood pressure.

8 thoughts on “Where Are My Ice Skates?

  1. I watched the second half of Austen’s Mansfield Park on PBS, and when it was over found the State of the Union Address still going on. I did watch till the end, and didn’t particularly get riled up. It’s interesting to see how everything depends on HOW one says things. Use patriotic enough language and the Dem’s have to clap and stand up, even when the words are utter nonsense. Makes me feel more than ever the importance of educating our students in critical thinking skills!

  2. Amen on the state of the union. My husband is a high school government teacher, so of course he’s 1) interested and 2) obligated. It was painful to listen to, and even by the end he had to turn it off, it was so painful.

  3. That last part made me smile. Upside? He’ll be out of office soon. Downside? I am not very pleased with the candidates. I don’t even know what Obama stands for, and I don’t know if I want a Clinton again. It’s been Bushes and Clintons for the past twenty years. We need a business man to get us out of debt, so that points to Romney. I DON’T KNOW!! I’m not even old enough to vote so it doesn’t matter. I wish we had freezing rain…
    Wait a second…
    Now that I’ve said that we’ll probably get it, because that’s just my luck, but that means no school, because down in the South, a snowflake will hit the ground at noon on a school day and they’ll send us home.
    I hope you’ve recovered from that difficult walk and the catching yourself before you fell. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Curbxstomp

  4. curbxstomp – I hear what you’re saying, but I have to disagree. The last thing we need is a Mitt Romney or another businessman. We had a businessman there for 8 years and he has done a horrible job of things. Obama is a fine candidate and I think he would do things to actually improve the lives of the people here in america.

    I have family in the south, so I know what you mean about one flake closing things down. You all are just not used to it like us ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I have no idea what you are talking about but just dropped in to say ‘Hi’….

    ….and if you want my twopence worth, Obama or Clinton sound good to me.

Leave a Reply

