Six More Weeks of Winter

Some of you may have seen the movie, Groundhog’s Day starring Bill Murray, where he is stuck living the same day over and over again in Punxsutawny, Pennsylvania. Well, yesterday (Saturday) was Groundhog’s Day and Punxsy Phil saw his shadow, so we’re in for six more weeks of winter.

philcloseup.jpg

The funny thing is our daughter had us up at 6:00 AM on Saturday (oh how I miss the college days of sleeping ’till noon) and we actually watched the whole thing live on television. We actually only live a few hours from Punxsutawny, but I’ve never been there for the big event, though my wife went once in college. I did work in Punxsutawny for a summer, however. It’s a pretty nice, if small, town and nothing much like the movie.

So the little guy tells us we have six more weeks of the cold stuff. Oh well, I could’ve predicted that myself. What I’m wondering is if you all, my faithful readers, have ever heard of Punxsutawney Phil, or any other animals that predict the weather.

10 thoughts on “Six More Weeks of Winter

  1. I love ‘Groundhog Day’ – such a clever film We don’t have an animal that predicts the weather but we do say that if it rains on St. Swithin’s Day (July 15th) then it will rain for 40 days. Complete nonsense of course…. I’d be much more inclined to believe an animal a superstition 🙂

  2. We have a local groundhog here that does the same thing. Somehow our daughter got really interested in that crazy Pennsylvania groundhog this year. I’m not even sure where she heard about him. Must be something from preschool.

  3. Of course, that’s one of my favorite movies! It’s a weird little tradition, Groundhog Day, though, right? I mean it’s not as if Phil can speak for the whole country! We aren’t getting any more snow these days in MA. Melting, actually. I want to go snowshoeing, so I’d rather Phil be right…. But doesn’t look like he is, at least from the weather reports this week…

  4. I live in PA too, so of course I’ve heard of Phil. I’m at the eastern end, so I haven’t met him though (or spent a summer working in his hometown).

    I thought the movie was great.

    I am not looking forward to 6 more weeks of winter, but that is pretty much how it is each years, so…

    College weekends, ah…actually being able to sleep late, and without guilt!

  5. I hear you about the college days and sleeping ’til noon. When our oldest was 3 (I think?) and able to recognize a shape, I bought a digital clock and taught her what the 8 looks like. She learned that the first number had to be 8 before she could wake us up (unless she was sick, etc). She sat in bed and played with toys and books until the 8 appeared– she generally wasn’t awake before 7, so it wasn’t too long for her. I was the envy of my sister for years (“why didn’t I think of that when my kids were young?!”)

  6. He’s sooo cute! The Canadian groundhogs predicted an early spring though! I much prefer to believe them (against anything rational, of course).

    I love the movie “Groundhog’s Day”!

    “Sleeping late” – what does that mean?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

