Life is Good

I feel so much better today. In fact, I feel happy. If anything positive comes out of being sick, it’s that I appreciate feeling well that much more.

Another thing making me happy is that writing exercise I posted on Saturday. For whatever reason, I really like my entry and it seems you all do too. It’s not often that I’m happy with something I’ve written, so I’m going to bask in this a bit. I’ve also been running ideas for part 2 through my head all weekend. Exciting! Also, if you want to take part, you can still write something and post it by Friday.

My story didn’t get picked by my local newspaper. The $25 gift certificate would have been nice (free books!), but I’m not too torn up. I’ll just have to try for Chapter 2. In case you are interested, here is the entry that won.

My daughter and I were laying and watching television when she first woke up yesterday morning. She was very quiet, taking it all in. Out of nowhere, she turned to me and asked, “What the puppy name is, Dadda?” It was so cute. I think it was the first time she asked a question of her own making in order to obtain information. She really is getting the hang of this whole language thing.

Finally, I have my second writer’s group meeting tonight. I’ll be getting feedback on Chapter 1 of my NaNoWriMo novel. I hope it goes well!

*******************UPDATE *************************

Oh, I forgot to mention that Neil Gaiman is having a vote over at his blog on which of his books should be available for free.  Check it out.

Also, John Scalzi has a pretty informative article today titled Unasked-For Advice to New Writers About Money.  Check it out.  It’s a good one.

5 thoughts on “Life is Good

  1. I am so glad you feel better.
    yeah that is true about getting sick, suddenly just not feeling ill, feels like a huge gift.
    Hope the writing group goes well.
    Ahh that is so neat, I don’t recall my son’s first question like that. It is cool that you are noticing and that you have blog documentation.

  2. I loved your piece. Can’t believe they picked that other one over yours! I just don’t get it. REally. Not just because I read your blog! Humph!

    And I’m glad you are better. And your daughter is a cutie!

  3. That is so cute! “What the puppy name is?” It’s amazing to know they have had these thoughts in mind and can now express them. Kiko has suddenly started talking in sentences too, although I won’t share the lavatorial announcement he made this morning!

    I’m glad you’re feeling better. That is a good point about feeling ill making you appreciate good health. I am rabid with the cold right now and keep telling myself that – I’ll appreciate feeling well again!

Leave a Reply

