Potty Time

First of all, the writing group went well last night. I got some great feedback on my Chapter 1, and it was mostly positive. They all seemed to enjoy the story, but also offered some helpful advice. All the criticisms were given in a constructive manner, so it really didn’t hurt at all to hear them. Maybe I’m just maturing as a writer in this regard. Hmm. Anyhow, I’m looking forward to making the necessary changes and get on with Chapter 2.

One thing I need to do before my next meeting is to do some reading about giving a critique. I’m not that good at that part yet. Here are a few links I’ve found on the topic: writing world, crayne.com. If you have any more, let me know.

potty.jpg

In addition to my writing, my daughter is a huge part of my life as you all know. She is now 21 months old. Yesterday my wife went out a bought her a little training potty, similar to the one above. We took it out of the box, put it in the kitchen, talked about how cool it was, and then my wife asked my daughter, “Do you have to pee?” My daugher’s answer was a resounding “Yes!”, and wouldn’t you know she actually used the potty a little. We’re quite proud.

Anyhow, I know it will be a long process, and in a way I fear change (my little girl is growing up already!), but this is a good thing.  Imagine the money I’ll save on diapers. Still, this is one step closer to her not needing dear old Dadda anymore.  Sniff..

13 thoughts on “Potty Time

  1. Just been asked to be friends with this blog over at Blogcatalog.
    http://www.fontlitagency.com/blog/

    Thought it might be interesting/useful for you.

    Glad the meeting went well and glad they were gentle with you 🙂
    I’m not very good at taking criticism (however positive!) so it’s good you found it useful.

    Good luck with the potty training – don’t envy you that. Mind you, I have heard that girls are easier than boys so you may be OK! It sounds like the signs are good anyway! Nothing like a Princess training potty to make a little girl feel special 🙂

  2. No she’ll need you more, as in “help me get these pants down quick” so she can use her potty, and then later scooping her up and running her to a public bathroom, when you are out together for the day.
    I think girls accomplish the whole potty thing much faster than boys, but I will share, that with my son, even when in kindergarten, he would wait to do certain things till he got home, because he thought it unseemly to wipe his own butt, it was something for me to do. (by first grade he was good to go, solo)

    I thought middle school would have my son pulling away, acting more separate from me, but I find he needs me just as much (and in some ways, more) than he did last year. I was surprised by this;but I am enjoying finding new activities and things to do together, at this stage (I mean cooking, who’d have thought? I like that about kids, you just don’t know what you are going to get, or how the road might turn this way and that. I don’t know if his interest in cooking will last for the rest of this year, several years, his whole life, or if he will be “over it” by tomorrow). Rest assured your darling little girl, has a kinds of interests and hobbies that will develop, and you will be needed to support them (emotionally and financially) probably well into her 20’s. 🙂

    (I am a bit behind, hopefully I will find time to come back later today, and read your other posts)

  3. Good luck with the potty training. While she may be growing up, I think that’ll become easier to deal with when you throw away the last diaper 🙂 And I have to admit that’s a pretty cute potty!

  4. Girls are much easier than boys, mainly because they don’t have to practice aiming, and boys for some reason don’t get bent out of shape when they pee in their pants. At least mine didn’t. Good luck with the PTing. Oh, and Resolve High-Traffic Foam works the best on carpeting.

  5. Girls also only have one step. With boys you have to teach sitting down and then standing up. But I know what you mean about feeling a little sad.

    Also, great news about the critiques. Sounds like a good group.

  6. Oh so sweet! I have to say potty time in my house was not easy for my first child but much easier for the other two. For some reason, I could get them to pee in it but pooping had to continue in the diaper for way longer then I could stand it!

    Anyway – best way to critique effectively is to give your honest opinion but in a very well thought out and non-inflammatory manner. I hate critiques where people havent thought out what they were going to say so they just say how they like it and it is great – with no thought in it. To me it is useless. Tell me the honest truth.

  7. Once I read that if you start potty training at the age of one, it will last you 1,5 years, if you start at age it will lasts for 1 year, and if you start at age 2, it will last 6 months.

    Re girls/boys:
    My son was potty trained at age 2,5, from one day to another, never ever to pee/poo into his pants again.
    My daughter hhmmm….started potty training about age 2,5 did not really cared about the thing until age 3,5, and well, she’s bordering 8 and well…sometimes we have a wet night. but those are quite rare…like one in two months.

    heehee.

  8. Jaye – that makes sense about the potty training. Also, the critique group has been great so far. It’s nice to have your stuff read by someone with a critical eye.

    Ello – that’s what I’m working on now. I can tell people what I like about their writing, but I need to get better communicating what I don’t like.

    SzélsőFa – I’ve heard statistics like that as well. However, my little one is ready. She has hit the ground running, so to speak. Thanks for sharing your experiences with this.

  9. Hi there – I found your site from Jason’s Clarity of Night, and look forward to reading more.

    One thing I’d say about critiquing is to try to stay technical. If you don’t like something, try to find a really concrete thing to change. So if a flashback bores you or a character seems incongruous, it really helps the writer to know the language that’s causing those feelings, so he can have something specific to work on.

    And I have two toddlers, neither of whom are potty training, so be sure to share any tips you pick up!

  10. Aerin – thanks for stopping by and I hope you return. Thanks also for the critique tips. Anything to help me improve is a help.

    As far as potty training, everything was going well a couple days ago but now she doesn’t want to use the potty. I’m sure there will be a lot of that.

  11. We’ve just started potty training this week too… which has resulted in me running around a great deal cleaning up you-know-what and you-know-what off the floor. I don’t think he’s ever going to get it! Maybe I will have to resort to bribing him with dolly mixtures.

    That potty is so cute! Today I went out and bought the Kikorator real pants and as I was buying them I said to him: “Wah!” because my little baby was becoming a big boy – then he got worried because he thought I was really crying and said: “Mummy OK?”

    I’m wondering if the money we save on nappies will be balanced out by the number of extra pants and clothes that need to be washed… but this stage won’t last forever.

  12. Helen – our kids seem to always be in sync. 🙂

    We haven’t been brave enough to start on the real pants yet. Still using nappies in this beginning phase. We’re calling them “pull-ups” now even though they are the same ones she has been wearing for 6 months.

    I’m not looking forward to the clean-up days. Right now we have the potty on our slate kitchen floor, which makes cleanup easier than carpet.

    Anyhow, good luck to you and Kiko!

Leave a Reply

