Writing Prompt – Road of Death

I came across this today on Boing Boing and it really caught my attention. I also thought it would make an excellent writing prompt for any of you writers out there that need come inspiration. I’m quite busy at the moment, so it’s all you.

Apparently, there is a road in Bolivia commonly referred to as “Death Road”. The road, which is extremely treacherous, and the only route western route into La Paz, Bolivia,  averages 100 deaths per year (and at it’s worst it used to average 400 deaths per year). Here is a link to the article on a web site called Sawse. There are several very cool pictures in the article of vehicles on this dangerous roadway (after the article was posted, it was revealed that the pictures weren’t all of Death Road, check them out though because they are still really cool).

Tell me you don’t have some story ideas after seeing this picture:

deathroad.jpg

That’s all from me for now.  Sorry for the haphazard post today.  I really am busy. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Writing Prompt – Road of Death

  1. Just stopped by to check out your blog. I found you doing a Technorati search for other writing blogs. I would love to link up with you. Please give my website a look and holler back. Thanks for the road of death pic links…should go over well on stumbleupon.

    –Nick

  2. Heck, I don’t even need to write a FICTIONAL story for that prompt. I was on plenty of roads like that in Peru. EEGHADS! Seeing the picture sends a shiver of recognition down my spine. I do, though, need to write the story of the worst road we encountered. I left that off my blog originally because I didn’t want to freak out my family. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. Ugh, that is the embodiment of two of my big fears – cars and heights! The road sign is funny – like drivers need that reminder of the condition of the road…! 🙂

Leave a Reply

