Plumbing, Hockey, and Politics

oldpipes.jpg

I had a very productive weekend, if I do say so myself. It was the type of weekend where I didn’t have much planned, but wound up doing a lot. I don’t have many of those, but could use some more for sure. If anyone has any to spare, please send them my way πŸ™‚

Friday night I went up to my attic in search of a replacement hockey stick, because I was vaguely aware I might have one up there that I abandoned a few years ago for reasons I can’t recall (I think I didn’t like the blade curve). What I found was a perfectly good, and in fact brand new, stick. My daughter was quite excited with my find as well and she “helped” me tape if for my game Saturday morning.

I was also able to do some editing on my novel, including the suggestions you all gave for the opening paragraph, so I think I’m pretty close to being “done” with Chapters 1 and 2. That’s a GREAT feeling.

So yeah, I had a game Saturday morning at 7:45 AM. I’m glad I woke for that one because I gathered the new stick, played, and scored another goal! That gives me six on the season, which makes me so happy. I had zero in eighteen or so games in the first half of the year, which made me feel like a bum. I have six goals in the fifteen or so games in the second half of the year, so at least I don’t feel like a total loser. Six goals isn’t great, but at least I feel like I’m contributing. A little bit of confidence, and new/old skates go a long way.

The downside of playing hockey that early in the morning was that I was exhausted all day, and I had to watch my daughter while my wife went to work. Almost-two year olds have an endless supply of energy, so my daughter made sure I didn’t lay around too much πŸ™‚ The coolest part of the day was when my daughter and I were hanging out on our love seat and a sunbeam was peaking through the window. I moved one our blankets and it must’ve kicked up some dust, because my daughter smiled brightly and said “fuzzies” and sure enough you could see the fuzzies in the sun. I would never have noticed this without her.

Sunday was an interesting day. Barack Obama has been campaigning in Pennsylvania and in fact was scheduled to give a speech on campus on the front steps on the very building I work at. In fact, I was offered tickets to the event but turned them down because I knew that wasn’t something my daughter would be into, and besides I don’t like huge crowds. Still, it pained me not to go. It turns out that there were 22,000 people there, the largest crowd ever on the lawn! People stood in line for hours! I was content to read about it in the newspaper.

Sunday night I told myself I would fix the dripping faucet in my shower. Well, I told myself I would either fix it, or determine it was beyond my extremely limited handyman skills, at which point I would break out the purse and pay a plumber.

I took apart the shower handle and took the twenty minute drive to the nearest Lowes, in search of parts. I was expecting to pay around $15 for replacement parts. While there, I noticed the tiny rubber washer was worn, so I instead paid $2 for two replacements, hoping that was the problem.Β  I put the whole thing back together, turned the water back on, and the stupid thing kept dripping.Β  I kept tinkering, walking up and down the stairs, turning the water on and off, with no luck.Β  At 10:00 at night, I told my wife I was going to try one more thing and if that didn’t work I was going to give up.Β  Well, against all odds it miraculously worked!Β  I feel so handy, at least for a day.

So, quite a busy weekend.Β  I hope I didn’t bore you too much.Β  How was your weekend?

9 thoughts on “Plumbing, Hockey, and Politics

  1. I had a lovely weekend as you have read – thanks for your comment by the way!

    Questions.
    Why do hockey matches start so early? (well done for scoring a goal)
    Is the image at the top pan pipes?
    What has that got to do with the rest of your post?
    Am I being dense?

    It has just occurred to me it might be the plumbing for your shower! In which case, well done for fixing it πŸ™‚

    And lastly, ‘fuzzies’ – so cute!

  2. Diane – our games are so early because we get the crap times. we share the ice with figure skaters, youth hockey, the university’s hockey team, etc etc. we get what’s left over.

    The image is just a picture of old pipes I found on wikimedia commons. it is supposed to be related to the plumbing part of the post.

  3. Go you on scoring another goal!

    My weekend was good because the Sharks tied up the Pacific Division champions title, kicked Anaheim’s butts, and are now 2nd overall the in league. We host Anaheim in the first round. Los Tiburones represent!

  4. I had an eventful Saturday. I learned proper skating techniques. Bought hockey skates, helmet, gloves, and an equipment. Nursed aching bones. Watched the Capitals beat the Panthers. Saturday was a very good day.

  5. Julie – The Pens took over 1st place in the conference yesterday. We’ll see if they can keep it. Go Sharks!

    Aneesa – Good for you. That’s a lot of equipment to buy. I would have to take out a loan to afford it all! πŸ™‚

    Maybe the Caps will be playing the Pens in the 1st round of the playoffs?

  6. The weekend was a blur. I did so much redrafting, yet didn’t seem to get anywhere, and I’m exhausted but not in a good way. A certain person was up for half the night on Sunday and I haven’t caught up with myself.

    It sounds like you had a good weekend. Your daughter is so cute. Kiko often points out stuff I would never have noticed. It is amazing to see the world through their eyes.

  7. I like the feeling when I get up early in the morning, on Saturday or Sunday, and get a lot of things accomplished.
    My weekend was unbelievably busy, mostly at home, with the kids. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

