Open the Door, Get on the Floor..

door.jpg

I had a bit of a difficult evening last night. My wife had work, so my daughter was in change of watching me 🙂

The evening started off well enough, with dinner and then a short walk in the neighborhood. It started to rain, so we cut our excursion short. It was just nice to be able to get outside and not be too cold. We’ll be doing many more walks, I’m sure.

The problems started around 8:30 or 9:00, when I was trying to read some books to get my daughter to sleep. It was then that she most noticed my wife wasn’t home. This lead to calls for “Daddy open the door”, because she thought if I would just open the door, Mommy would be waiting on the other side. I opened the door a few times and tried to explain that Mommy was at work, but it didn’t really help. Closer to 10:00 I was greeted with “No Daddy” and crying fits. It wasn’t until I offered to read Bob the Builder to her that she finally calmed down and eventually fell asleep, five minutes before my wife got home.

So, I’m a little tired today and didn’t get much done with my story edits. Oh well. There’s always tonight.

5 thoughts on “Open the Door, Get on the Floor..

  1. Everyone walk the dinosaur…

    I found you while searching for any info on whether Shimmer has let people know whether their Clockwork Jungle stories made it into the anthology or not. Your blog is great!

  2. I like the thinking here (though not fun for either of you at the time) that whenever Mom is away, the door opens and she comes back, so if we just open the door, there she will be and come through to us.

    God made toddlers so cute to make up for the fact that they are exhausting.

Leave a Reply

