Skates and an Auction

Thanks to all the well-wishes about my skates.  The super-glue held up for at least part of the game, and the skates didn’t completely snap, so I guess that is good.  No broken ankles.  I have a game on Thursday, so I’ll probably have to use my old skates.  That’s disappointing because I’ve been playing so well with the new ones. I even scored another goal last night.

Julie K Rose posted about an ebay auction going on to raise money for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.  Here’s a link to the auction.  There is some neat stuff there, including a bunch of really cute Winnie the Pooh items.  Everything is really inexpensive over there right now, so if you can why not head over and place a bid?  It’s for a good cause.

The temperature got over 60 degrees yesterday in my neck of the woods.  It was great.  We were able to get outside and clean up fallen branches and dead flowers from our flowerbed.  It looks soooo much better. It makes me happy.  We should have daffodils blooming by the end of the week.

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now.  I’ll try to post something else later.

7 thoughts on “Skates and an Auction

  1. Over 60 degrees??! Lucky duck! We’re in the low forties today. But they SAY we’ll get into the 60’s maybe Wed. I’m not holding my breath. I did see the first shoots of skunk cabbage emerging in the creek behind our house, though, so I suppose spring is coming….

    Congrats on the goal!

  2. Wow, it sounds like you are living on the edge with those skates! You’re brave; hockey scares me even with functioning gear. I hope the Hockey Fairy brings you some new ones soon.

  3. Glad your skates (mostly) held up.
    Weather sounds great 🙂

    I have no extra $ but I am certainly for that cause. My father’s sister died of CF when she was 27. (the two little girls that were born before her died within days from CF because they didn’t know what was wrong with them at the time)

  4. I’m glad you didn’t post this from the hospital, Struggling Writer! The other week I watched this strangely compelling teenage film about a talented yet naive figure skater who was thwarted by an evil rival coach who gave her new skates in the middle of a competition. The figure skater didn’t realise that it took ages to break new skates in and so she damaged her feet and lost! So, based on the wisdom of that film, it seems like you made the right decision to use your old skates!

    Cystic Fibrosis was one of several conditions we thought Kiko might suffer from. I know I stress out about his asthma but Thank God he doesn’t have that.

    I miss daffodils. The leaves are falling from the trees here.

  5. Helen – 🙂 I did use the bad skates, but they didn’t break luckily. I’ll have to switch back to the old ones for Thursday that are too big for me.

    We watched that same movie this past New Year’s. The movie is called The Cutting Edge I believe.

    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  6. Be careful on those skates! Hey, Sharks vs. Flames start tomorrow. What’s the eastern conference looking like for playoffs?

    And thanks SO MUCH for linking to the auctions. You’re a peach.

Leave a Reply

