Radio Waves Cure Cancer?

I saw this amazing story on Gizmodo yesterday about a man who has leukemia and has found a potential cure/no side effects treatment for cancer using radio waves.  John Kanzius could ‘t sleep one night due to his chemotherapy and started to think. He got the idea that radio waves could kill cancer cells and decided to build a prototype machine using pie pans and conducted tests on hot dogs injected with copper sulfate—the radio waves only heat up metal spots, the theory being this will kill just the copper infused cancer cells, without harming any of the other cells.

It’s an amazing story and it just might work. They are doing clinical trials right now. Go ahead and click on the link and watch the video from 60 Minutes. It’s an inspiring piece, and I’ll admit I had a bit of a tear in my eye at the end.

This really shows me the strength of the human spirit and how when faced with an enormous challenge and possible end of life, people will do all in their power to just get a little bit more time. Mr. Kanzius may not make it to see the cure, but just possibly he will have helped those that come after him, and that has to be comforting.

12 thoughts on “Radio Waves Cure Cancer?

  1. I haven’t seen the 60 minutes video, but just from your description/explanation it sounds doable. Just amazing. I’ll try to find out more.

    By the way, I’ve left this message a few places, but wanted to let you know that for some (seemingly) random reason, I’m not always able to view blogs real-time. Today I can, but yesterday I couldn’t get past last week’s posts.

    But I truly enjoy your blog! You have lots of interesting stuff!! So if I’m not posting real-time, I’m still lurking.

    Love your towel day post too!
    🙂

  2. This is really cool news. Great to see some real potential progress.

    Ctrl+F5 will trigger a clean refresh that will ignore any cached pages, Christine. Hopefully that will help.

    (PS: I use the feed!)

  3. I’m so glad I read your blog this morning. This is a gloomy day for a number of reasons but reading what you read made me feel positive again. I’ve heard so many variations on the “modern technology causes cancer” theme (pylons, plastics etc) that it’s interesting and inspiring to hear that the situation could be reversed.

  4. Really intriguing. It would be so fantastic if it works. (the whole current way of killing cancer cells is horrible, but I suppose the best chance people have to get better). I hope to God it does work, and that he lives to see the first person cured.

  5. I WOULD LOVE TO KNOW MORE ABOUT THIS I HAVE FAMILY AND FRIENDS WHO HAVE CANCER AND IF THIS REALLY WORK IT WOULD BE A BLESSING FOR THEM ,SO COULD I PLEASE HAVE MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THIS

Leave a Reply

