A Big Day

Today is the big day today in Pennsylvania. After weeks of huge buildup, we finally get to vote in the primary. This will be the first time in a long time that Pennsylvania’s primary results will actually mean something, as in yours past the presidential nomination has been decided well in advance of the state.

Just to illustrate how big this has been, let me tell you this. I work at a university, and in the past three weeks we have had visits from Bill Clinton, Hillary Clinton, Chelsea Clinton, Ron Paul, and Barack Obama. Do you think any of these people would’ve come here if not for the upcoming election? Of course not. Our phone has also been ringing off the hook the past week with automated phone calls from all sorts of political groups. It will be nice when that is over.

Anyhow, I look forward to casting my vote for Barack Obama tonight after work. I believe he is the best choice to lead this country in the right direction. I actually don’t think he’s going to win Pennsylvania tonight, but all he needs to do is make it close since he has such a huge lead in delegates already.

Today is a big day for another reason. My first column is now up at Be A Good Dad. It’s going to be a weekly column titled the Sippy Cup Book of the Week. I’m going to be reviewing kids books over there and maybe creating a few laughs. If you have time, please check it out and let me know what you think. Any feedback is appreciated. Here is a link directly to my post.

I joked yesterday about increasing my readership with my picture, but it really happened.  I had the highest hit count yesterday than I have had in a while.  I guess I need to post more pictures of my daughter.

Finally, yesterday was my 700th post here.  Can you believe it?  That’s absolutely amazing to me.  Thanks for reading, because without you I doubt I would take the time to write my thoughts here.

9 thoughts on “A Big Day

  1. 700 posts! I am coming up to 200 (have just posted 198) so congratulations!

    Just did a quick detour and read your review – very good indeed…and another detour to watch Charlie and Lola on YouTube – I love ‘I will never ever eat a tomato’. The children have lovely cute voices – I would like to hear you read the book to your daughter!

    Happy voting! Hope your man wins – sincerely 🙂

  2. Diane – you have less than 200, but I bet you have more readers! Thanks for the thoughts on my review. I love that ‘I will never ever eat a tomato’ episode. In fact, we watched that last week!

  3. I’d be voting for Barack Obama as well, but I’m Canadian so I’ll have to vote vicariously through you.

    Great review. I like how you include your daughter’s reaction in it.

    And congratulations on your 700th post. Here’s to 700 more!

  4. Paul, double congratulations are in order. The 700th post! WOW! And the first review in a weekly column! Bravo!
    I really enjoyed your review. It makes me want to read the book, although I’m afraid my daughters are a bit too old for it.

  5. Hey STruggling Writer,
    I found you at Jaye’s and I can identify with your position–switching from I to D. I just did it for this primary and I have to say it felt weird. Even though, my ideas are liberal and def. more along the lines of the D party, it still felt weird to reassign myself. Good luck with chapter four!

Leave a Reply

