More Beardy

Well, here’s this week’s picture of my playoff beard. Beautiful, isn’t it? Seeing as how I field daily pleas from my wife and daughter to “shave it off” I’m guessing it’s less than beautiful. Oh well. It is working, though. The Pittsburgh Penguins have yet to lose in the playoffs, and have a two games to none lead on the New York Rangers in their best of seven series. I may be growing this beard until June!

I had a pretty good weekend. I got outside and got rid of a bunch of leaves in the yard and then mowed the lawn for the first time this year. It has rained almost constantly since. I’ll probably have to mow again soon. Argh.

We painted out kitchen yesterday, which is huge for us. We’ve lived in our house for around four years and almost all of our walls are still white. At the urging of my wife, we finally went to the home store and picked up some paint. It looks nice. My wife, the artist, will be happy to have some color in our lives.

I had another hockey game Sunday night and scored another two goals. The one was an attempted pass that hit a defenseman and went in the net, but the other one was a pretty nice play in which I beat the goalie five-hole on a backhand. My last game is Wednesday night, but I don’t want the season to end because I’m on a roll. In fact, I’m not sure I’ve ever felt this good on the ice.

Finally, I leave you with a picture my wife took of our daughter before all the rain came. This one is from the flower garden in our front yard. Most of the tulips have survived the rain, but the daffodils had all their petals knocked off. Oh well.

16 thoughts on “More Beardy

  1. Hey, your beard is looking really good! πŸ™‚ (Oops, sorry Mrs SW — I guess I’m probably supposed to stand in solidarity with the women….)

    Congrats on that backhand goal of yours — sounds like a sweet one.

  2. Your tulips are beatiful. Your little girl, too. Your beard, not so much, but your determination is beautiful. :0

    What color did you paint your kitchen?

  3. I’m liking the beard – notice how you are playing well with it too? Must improve the aerodynamics or something!

    Gorgeous photo of the little one – definitely one to frame…

  4. Your beard is going to be down to the ground by June! Do you think you might keep it? Heh heh heh!

    I love the photo of your daughter. She looks like Kiko’s friend.

  5. Hi, I thought I posted about your beard, but I don’t see it. But now I see many posts dedicated to your beard, and read about Mrs. SW, and of course as a woman I have to be in her camp no matter what! Sorry….. Love hockey though. πŸ™‚

    Beautiful photo of your daughter!!!!

  6. Thanks Rob. I need all the support I can get πŸ™‚

    Thanks Diane. Maybe the longer the beard, the more goals I score πŸ™‚

    Helen – I’m pretty sure I’ll shave when the playoffs are over, even though I do like it a bit. My wife is not a fan. πŸ™‚

    Christine – Mrs. SW will be happy to hear of your support!

    Mellifluous Dark – thanks and I’ll get to that Meme. πŸ™‚

  7. I totally support the beard! I wish my boyfriend would grow a playoff beard, but he’s not a Pens fan. Actually he doesn’t even like sports. But beside the point, way to rock the beard!

  8. Thank you for all your support. I cannot wait till Mr. Porcupine has walked off of Struggling Writer’s face. When I dream, he’s still clean-shaven at least. The hardest part is when we kiss, because I get pricked by all the little beardy hairs. Icky!!!! πŸ˜›

    I would shave it off if he fell asleep before me, but that never happens because I’m so tired from taking care of our daughter and working every other night. But, I’m really not mean, and I would never do that. πŸ˜‰

    The funny thing is two of my co-workers that are from out-of-state think it’s hilarious for hunters here to grow beards during hunting season. They have yet to see Struggling Writer’s beard, though. I still think it’s funny to grow hair to support a sports team. Why not print out a banner and hang it in the window? Or, buy a little Iceberg Penguin for his office? Anymore suggestions would be welcomed.

    Our kitchen: We just need to do some touch ups on the edges, but after that, we’ll post picts.

    Sincerely,
    Mrs. Struggling Writer

Leave a Reply

