Random Stuff and Such

First of all, please head over to Be A Good Dad and check out my book review. This week I review Mr. Brown Can Moo, Can You? by Dr. Seuss. It’s one of my favorite Seuss books. Also, I’ll be posting over there every Tuesday, so stop by. Comments are welcome as always. πŸ™‚ Really, though, I just hope you enjoy reading about some good children’s books.

Now for the fun stuff. Mellifluous Dark tagged me for a meme, so I figured I’d give that a whirl.

The rules:
1. Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird.
3. Tag 7 people at the the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to your blogs.
4. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

Here we go…

  1. I always put my left shoe on first. It just feels weird doing it the other way around. Same with my hockey skates. Always left first.
  2. When I was little, I asked my parents what state we lived in and they told me Pennsylvania. This shocked me and scared me a little bit, as I worried we lived in the same place as Dracula (Transylvania).
  3. I hate elevators. I have been trapped a few times, once for 15 minutes, and therefore avoid them at all costs. I have confronted this fear a bit recently, but I still get nervous when I have to ride an elevator.
  4. I have owned every Nintendo console ever produced (not including the handhelds) except for the Wii, which I hope to one day acquire. I still have all my game systems, too. I never throw anything away.
  5. I grew up in a very small, rural town. I only had 89 people in my graduating class, and that was considered big. One bad thing about a small school is that if you gain a reputation in first grade, chances are it follows you all the way to twelfth grade. Try getting a date to the prom when you are known as “the paste eater”.
  6. My first car, a 1973 Beetle, had a malfunctioning gas gauge, among other malfunctioning things. For the first year that I owned the car, I really had no idea how much gas I had in the tank. I fixed it after being stranded driving home from a workout one summer. I loved that car, but don’t miss its “personality”.
  7. I used to set up “boobie traps” in the woods in my back yard to entrap my neighbor. We put a string with an apple on it at eye level between two trees and had a trip-wire at foot level. When he was walking through the woods and saw the apple he would trip on the wire and the apple would fall and land on his head. Yes, I was negatively influenced by The Goonies.

Ok, I’m supposed to tag people because it’s in the rules, and I hate to break the rules. If I tag you and you don’t want to take part, that’s OK too. I promise I won’t cry (too much)

  1. Rob
  2. Diane
  3. Helen
  4. Christine
  5. Michelle
  6. Hoodie
  7. Novembrance
11 thoughts on “Random Stuff and Such

  1. Ah, Mr Brown moos well!! Good choice.

    I never thought about it before but I put on my right shoe first. How weird. Are you left handed? Recently I found out that although I am right handed and right footed, I am left eyed. You can find out which eye is dominant (if you don’t already know) by putting your thumbs and forefingers together in front of you at arms length and making a box. Center it on an item in the distance, then close one eye at a time. The eye that you can still see the item inside the box is your dominant eye. My optometrist seemed surprised that I am left-eye dominant. I wonder if this has any bearing on which shoe I put on first…. πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the tag, I’ll do this in the next couple of days.

    I also used to set up boobie traps as a kid. Data was my personal hero. I so badly wanted a wind up tooth grappling hook when I was a kid.

  3. I enjoyed reading you being random, apple traps, paste eating jokes, elevator entrapement (or rather in-trapment but that isn’t a word), Dracula, bad beetles, and video games, good stuff.

    I have no idea which shoe I put on first, probably the one I find first.

  4. Excellent review!

    And a very nice funny list.
    So you knew where Dracula lived even before knowing where you lived… πŸ™‚
    No. 7 is great! πŸ™‚

  5. Diane – looking forward to your answers

    ROb – Data was so cool. I think I always wanted to be Mikey, even though he was a little lame

    Taffiny – I’m glad you enjoyed the randomness πŸ™‚

    Novembrance – excellent!

    Vesper – that is funny, isn’t it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

