A Little Young to Break a Hip?

No, the picture above isn’t of me skating. The little kid in the background on the left, taking a fall? Yeah, that’s me a little bit. Let me explain.

I had my last hockey game last night and it went pretty well. I’ll miss playing, but won’t miss waking up at 5:30 AM on Saturdays. Plus, I could use the time to heal.

Towards the end of the game, as I was rushing to get to a puck before a guy on the other team, we got tangled up a bit and I fell to the ice, landing on my hip/bum. It hurt a bit at the time, and hurts worse now. Sitting on my chair, I have to lean to one side otherwise it hurts too much. Also, whenever I get up I make the”argh” sounds of an old man. I’ll be ok, but it will be a few days before the pain goes away. Just a bruise I suppose. Don’t worry, there will be no pictures 🙂

Anyhow, my wife is feeling a little better. She is tired and has a bit of a sore throat, but is getting better. In fact, she left a comment here yesterday regarding my beard. Here it is in case you missed it:

Thank you for all your support. I cannot wait till Mr. Porcupine has walked off of Struggling Writer’s face. When I dream, he’s still clean-shaven at least. The hardest part is when we kiss, because I get pricked by all the little beardy hairs. Icky!!!! P

I would shave it off if he fell asleep before me, but that never happens because I’m so tired from taking care of our daughter and working every other night. But, I’m really not mean, and I would never do that. ;)

The funny thing is two of my co-workers that are from out-of-state think it’s hilarious for hunters here to grow beards during hunting season. They have yet to see Struggling Writer’s beard, though. I still think it’s funny to grow hair to support a sports team. Why not print out a banner and hang it in the window? Or, buy a little Iceberg Penguin for his office? Any more suggestions would be welcomed.

Our kitchen: We just need to do some touch ups on the edges, but after that, we’ll post picts.

Sincerely,
Mrs. Struggling Writer

Yeah, she’s not a big fan of the beard. 🙂 Feel free to respond to her, I’ll make sure to show her your comments.

Julie K. Rose posted her latest Writers and Soundtracks podcast. Check it out!

5 thoughts on “A Little Young to Break a Hip?

  1. In my experience (of my ex’s beard I hasten to add!) beards are the perfect length for about a day. Before this they are too prickly, after this they are just too bushy – and ‘ZZ Top’ for me (if you know what I mean).

    For one perfect day, they look cool and feel nice….

    Hope your bum/hip gets better soon and glad Mrs SW is improving too.

  2. Ooh-ya, that sounds painful! I hope you feel better soon.

    Hmmmm, I do have an alternative suggestion, to replace the beard. I’ve seen that it is sometimes traditional for sports fans to shave their head then paint/dye it with their team’s colours. How about that? Or would it not go down too well at work??

    You’ve reminded me of a rhyme my friend and I made up when were at school, it went: “Beardy-Weirdys are great! They always want to help!” etc… more and more foolish. At age 15 we thought men with beards were hilarious.

  3. Yikes– I hope Jason hasn’t visited here and seen what you’re doing in support of Pittsburgh!! He’s a huge Flyers fan, and it’s looking like their season has some longevity this year. 😉 I hope he doesn’t get any crazy ideas about growing a beard! (Send my sympathies to your wife!) Actually, he can’t look so scruffy for work (those lawyers are so traditional and old school that way…). Poor guy can’t even get hairy for hunting. Needs to wear a ski mask to survive deer season.

    Well, maybe your beard will be coming off soon…
    😉

  4. Aine – first of all, so sorry you all are Flyers fans (just kidding). 🙂

    I have to wear a shirt and tie to work every day, but don’t have any facial hair restrictions.

    I think the beard will be here for a while. At least three more games as New York has to win three in a row to eliminate the Pens. Also, can you imagine the Flyers and Pens in the Conference Finals. There will be more bad blood in the state than during the primaries season!

  5. Being from Pittsburgh, I’m with you on the Pens! Free comic book day sounds like something the publishing companies should offer once in a while for books. Just get people holding them again, wanting to add more to their home collection…perhaps buy one get one free. I suppose then, you’d hate to be pegged to be the free book if you’re an author. How do they handle it for the comic books, I wonder? Great site! I’m having my template reconstructed so when that’s finished I’d like to add you to my blog roll if that’s okay????

Leave a Reply

