Free Comic Book Day May 3

Tomorrow is Free Comic Book Day, a day in which, you guessed it, you can get free comic books. Amazingly, this is the 7th year for Free Comic Book Day, which I swear just started last year. I feel old now.

Here is a list of some of the comics that will be available for free. Some that may be of interest are an X-Men comic, a Simpsons comic, a Superman comic, a Daffy Duck comic, and a really cute comic called Owly (this is the one I most look forward to).

Here is an explanation of Free Comic Book Day from the web site:

As the name implies, Free Comic Book Day is a single day when participating comic book specialty shops across North America and around the world give away comic books absolutely free to anyone who comes into their stores.

Free Comic Book Day almost always coincides with the launch of a superhero movie, and this year is no different. As you are probably all aware, Iron Man starring Robert Downey, Jr. comes out today. There has been good buzz about the movie, which I’m sure comic store owners hope will spill over to their shops. So, if you like the movie, why not pick up some of the source material at your local comic book store (and not at one of the big book chains).

I will be bringing my daughter and wife with me to the locally owned comic store, The Comic Swap. They treat me very well there, and hand me my comics when I walk in the door. You see, they make it a point to know me and the other customers by name. I guess they should, as I’ve been a customer for over 15 years, having seen them grow from a musty Book Swap in the basement, to a clean, friendly comic book store.

Anyhow, head to your local comic swap and pick up some free stuff to read. Maybe you’ll become hooked, like me.

6 thoughts on “Free Comic Book Day May 3

  1. Love it! We saw Iron Man last night; it was fantastic. My husband does a lot of legal work for DC Comics, and a great friend of ours works there as well, so we enjoy regular free comic books.

  2. Our FLGS (Friendly Local Gaming Store) participates in this event every year and they draw quite a crowd. Should be a blast.

    I found your website courtesy of WP’s new little “Possibly Related Posts” feature. Apparently one of my posts ended up on your post about swear words. I saw it in my stats and hopped over.

    Very cool stuff here. Very little time to browse at present, but will subscribe and be back soon. Until then, best of luck in your writing. And if you decide to take your two-year-old to a movie, please sit in the back . . .

    Ha!

    Brian

Leave a Reply

