A Bird, No A Plane, No A Superdelegate

This will be a post of things. Things that aren’t entirely related.  Things that may be interesting.

Thing 1

My daughter told my wife and I this morning that Santa is going to come to her birthday and give her a red present.  This is the first we heard that Old Saint Nick is coming to the party, so we’ll have to go out and buy a few more burgers I guess.

Thing 2

I read the first three chapters of Little Brother on my Sony Reader last night, which with all the technology in the book seemed fitting. I like, possibly even prefer, the feel of a real book as much as the next itchy-bearded guy. There’s something nice about the Sony Reader too.

**small digression
I got the device for just this reason, free electronic versions of books. If you download a book from the internet you have a few options. You can print out the contents of the book, which is fine, but offends my frugality (paper and ink cost money, you know). You can read the book at you PC or laptop, which is also fine, but also my computer has a little something called “The Internet” which distracts me from reading. Finally, you can use a device that is dedicated to doing one thing:displaying electronic books. This is the Sony Reader.
**end small digression

About the book?  Yeah, I’m liking it so far. I just got to an interesting point in the story but had to put it down to go to bed.  I’m excited to continue the journey tonight.

Thing 3 (Politics Alert!)

I spent way too much time than I needed to watching the primary returns from North Caroline and Indiana, hoping Obama could squeak just a little bit more from those late reporting counties to squeak ahead of Hillary. It didn’t happen, but it doesn’t really matter. There is really no way Hillary can win without doing some shady things and ripping the party apart. It’s over, even if she and the media don’t want to admit it (why would they, after all, since they are getting huge ratings while this draws on). The only way this will end (other than Hillary dropping out) is with the help from the Superdelagates *bugle plays*.

Whatever, right? I spend too much time thinking about this stuff.

4 thoughts on “A Bird, No A Plane, No A Superdelegate

  1. Santa Books and Delegates.
    Now that’s what I call a full and busy life.
    I watched the returns drama far into the night to and then to celebrate I watched
    The Masque of the Red Death with Vincent Price.
    Don’t ask.

  2. Hmmm, yes, that thing called the Internet! It’s distracting me today. I need to get back to writing.

    I’ve found the coverage of the current US politics to be a bit confusing here. Last night they said on the news that Barrack Obama was confident he would win, and in the next breath said that nothing was conclusive yet! Do you think Barrack Obama could be the next US president?

    Your daughter is cute – it’s cool the way she linked up that Santa brings presents! I don’t think Kiko remembers Santa bringing him presents at Christmas. He wasn’t really aware of his birthday the month before – apart from the cake bit. Now, however, we get 100 renditions of Happy Birthday a day. I’m glad someone in my family is having a birthday in 2 weeks because it’ll give him a chance to sing it properly. I hope your daughter has a Happy Birthday at the weekend, or as Kiko would sing (bawl?) “Happy NO-NO Wah-Woo!”

  3. Anita – I always found Vincent Price scary/awesome. He’s great!

    Helen – US politics is confusing for sure. People vote against their best interests because of some trivial issues. It can be really frustrating. Barack Obama has a very good chance of becoming US president. It’s what keeps me going. If he becomes president it will be a good thing for the US and the world. Let’s hope!

    Kiko is so cute too. I;m glad he’s rehearsing for the family birthday. 🙂

  4. Interesting things indeed! As a non-American I am following your election with a mixture of bewilderment and excitement. Don’t quite get how it all works (superdelegates?) but it’s fascinating none the less. I have often thought that WE should get a vote in your presidential election as the actions of your president often affects the rest of the world 😀 I’m with you as far as Obama is concerned – so vote for him for me too please!

    Your daughter just gets cuter and cuter. Remember all these cute things she says. I never wrote down any of the cute comments my boys said so I have forgotten most of them – shame….

Leave a Reply

