NaNoWriMo 2008

So, have you all started thinking about National Novel Writing Month for 2008? Yeah, it doesn’t actually happen until November, but guess what? It’s only five months away!

If you would’ve asked me last December if I was ever going to try NaNoWriMo again I probably would’ve either busted out in crazed, maniacal laughter, quietly started sobbing on your shoulder, or simply run away screaming. This far removed from the event, however, and I’m thinking I might actually try it again.

Let’s be honest. I haven’t even finished rewrites on my NaNoWriMo project from 2007. That is what I’m working on with my writing group right now. I still think that story can go somewhere. However, looking forward, I do want to start a new project in November.

I don’t even have a story idea yet. Those aren’t hard to come by for me. The writing of the story idea is the hard part for me. What I do know is I want to try something different. I think I’m going to try to write this one from the first-person point-of-view, something I haven’t done yet in a novel length story.

So, are any of you thinking about NaNoWriMo ’08. It’s not far away.


Completely unrelated, tonight is Game 6 of the Stanley Cup Finals. The Penguins again have to win or they will be eliminated. Here are some of their old friends from my post on Monday to make sure they do win.

Care Bear Stare!

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2008

  1. I’ve done plenty of short stories in my days, but never anything novel length.

    And I love writing in first-person. I’ve always wanted to the the second-person thing, Like Michel Faber did in “The Crimson Petal and the Rose.” I just loved the way that novel unfolded, with all the interesting asides thrown my way by the flirtatious narrator.

    I may have to do some digging into NaNoWriMo. Never heard of it before now . . .

  2. NaNoWriMo? Is it that time already? Well, if you do decide to do it, again we will be here for you I’m sure. I’m still dying to read last year’s effort.

    I’m also doing my best Care Bear stare and NOT watching tonight’s match. Here’s hoping the Penguins win and prolong the excitement!

    Woo hoo!

  3. After my complete failure last year, I’m not too sure. We’ll have to see where I’m at with my writing at that time (which I’m willing to bet is the same as where I’m at right now…).

  4. tysdaddy – you’ll hear about NaNoWriMo quite a bit if you stick around here. that’s pretty much all I wrote about it November

    Diane – it’s getting time, yep. Also, I could always email you what I have so far if you really want to read it. The entire story won’t be done for quite some time. I’m lazy like that 🙂

    damyantig – good luck!

    Rob – you can do it! (said in the Rob Schneider voice)

  5. Holy cow . . . five months? Uh, I’ll have to think about that one. Let’s just say my goal is to get this project done before then, and MAYBE I’ll think about it.

Leave a Reply

