I Got An Email from Cory Doctorow

I mentioned a few times in the past that I was reading the novel Little Brother, written by author Cory Doctorow. I finished it at the beginning of this week and have to say it was a great book. Very entertaining, interesting, and thought provoking. I’m not alone in my liking of Little Brother, as Cory mentioned it was #8 on New York Times bestseller list this week. Not bad for a book that you can download legally completely for free.

Anyhow, I enjoyed the book so much I decided to let Cory know. I went to his website, found his email address, and wrote him a little message telling him how much I enjoyed the book and how rare it is for me to find a book that I don’t want to put down, one that when I’m not reading it I’m thinking about when I can next read it. I also told him it has inspired me in my own writing. Basically, it was a thank you note (partially inspired by writinggb).

It wasn’t a big deal. I know how hard it is to write and how nice it feels when someone tells you that they enjoy your writing and that it had an impact on them. That’s such a great feeling. It was the least I could do.

Anyhow, later in the day I received a little message from him thanking me for thanking him. It a long message, but was clearly written by him. It’s not a big deal, but I can say I received an email from a New York Times bestselling author!

So, if you read something you like, why not tell the writer. We are such fragile beings, and to know we are making a difference does mean a lot.

7 thoughts on “I Got An Email from Cory Doctorow

  1. I love that you just went ahead and wrote that note! So many times people feel that a writer will be inaccessible, but I’m certain they like to be thanked just as much as the next person. Good for you!

  2. I saw Cory speak at Eastercon. Smart guy.

    That was a nice thing you did, I don’t think anyone gets tired of hearing their work was appreciated.

  3. That is a very thoughtful thing to do and it’s very good of Cory to take time to reply to you (and comment here!) Sounds like the sort of chap I should be reading…. 🙂

  4. Wow, Cory if that’s really you thanks for stopping by. I meant what I said.

    writinggb – thanks for the inspiration

    neil – I would’ve liked to hear him speak in person. maybe someday

    animar – check out his stuff 🙂

    You too, Diane 🙂

Leave a Reply

