Meme of Various Stuff

Here’s a picture of our peony bushes I took last week. They don’t look anything like this right now, as they are at the end of their lifespan. I don’t think the 90+ temperatures the past two weeks helped anything, either. Till next year, my beauties πŸ™‚

Taffiny tagged me for a meme the other day, and I figured today would be a good time to do that. I have other rants I would like to go on today, but I’d rather be positive than negative.

1. What were you doing 10 years ago?
Around this time ten years ago, June 1998, I was home from college for the summer. I worked at a Summer Day Camp for kids at a State Park to make a little money. Evenings, I played a lot of street hockey with my friends, and on weekends I played in an adult soccer league. I was probably feeling very smart even though as I look back I realize I knew nothing.

2. 5 things on your to-do list for today

  • Go to work
  • Help with dishes
  • Maybe help with laundry
  • Buy a Father’s Day gift for my Dad
  • Watch Doctor Who!

3. What would you do if you were a billionaire?
I’m going to change this to millionaire, because I think that’s more interesting. If I was a billionaire I would probably use hundred dollar bills as toilet paper, because I could.

If I magically got a million dollars I would immediately quit my job and start writing full time. I’d pay off my student loans, pay off my cars, and move to a house with more than two closets and central air conditioning. The rest of the money would go into the bank, to live off of while I struggled to finish the novel πŸ™‚

4. What are three of your bad habits?

  • Too much surfing on the internet
  • I drink too much caffeine
  • I eat too much salt

5. What are some snacks you enjoy?

  • Beef Jerkey
  • Potato Chips
  • Peanuts/Cashews
  • Pie

6. What were the last five books you read?

  • Little Brother
  • The Mysterious Benedict Society
  • The Hobbit
  • The Discworld Graphic Novel
  • The Golden Compassl

7. What are five jobs you have had?

  • Camp Counselor
  • Computer Programmer
  • Database Administrator

8. What are five places where you have lived?

  • Tiny Town in Pennsylvania
  • Indiana, Pennsylvania
  • Newark, Delaware
  • State College, Pennsylvania
  • My current small town in Pennsylvania

I’m scared to tag anyone, so if you want to do this go ahead. Let me know, though, because I’d like to read your responses.

10 thoughts on “Meme of Various Stuff

  1. Those peonies are gorgeous – my favourite flower by a mile.

    I like your choice of ‘pie’ as a snack! Any particular kind? Savoury? Sweet? Pie would be a whole meal for me – I hate diets πŸ™‚

  2. writinggb – I’m 40 or so pages from the end. I got distracted by newer, shinier books. Overall, I like it, but not as much as Lord of the Rings. I wish I read The Hobbit when I was younger.

  3. HOMEMADE STRAWBERRY PIE?!?! Delicious!!!!

    You got further into the Hobbit than I did… haven’t read Lord of the Rings either, sad to say, but LOVED the films. I tried to read the books but it all sounded a bit stupid. I think you had to read it when you were young and impressionable πŸ™‚

  4. oh at first I thought there was a town, called Tiny Town. There should be.

    I think you may need 2 or 3 million for those plans though. And unless that start putting aloe in money, it will never be a good idea to use for toilet paper.

    Did you enjoy reading the golden compass? (I am thinking about reading it. But actually, I should finish all the half read, and partial read, stuff on my list first)

    Homemade strawberry pie! ( I have never had it). You people are mean, I am sitting here snacking on carrot sticks, thinking it pleasant enough, but now you have all gone and made me hungry for pie, strawberry pie, apple pie, blueberry pie. I want pie! I had a peach pie once (homemade, but not by me in my home.) with some sort of cream in it, OMG, that was 12 years ago, and sometimes I still sit and think about that pie, and wish I could have another slice. But I have yet to come across anything like it.
    I have yet to attempt to make pie. Last week my son did however force me into buying him a DVD of a chef making desserts, including pie. He recommended using a tablespoon or so of lard in the recipe, this resulted in me at the supermarket upon seeing some, to point, excitedly exclaiming “Look honey lard!!”. My son started cracking up, he couldn’t believe I was so excited to see lard. Well no, but I am excited about the idea of making good pie, or no, rather I’m thrilled by the idea of eating good pie.

    A lot can change in 10 years, eh?

  5. Mmmmmm, strawberry pie, me and Kiko have just been eating yoghurt covered in crushed strawberries, it turns out our new neighbourhood has some lovely food shops!

    This is a good meme, I might tag myself tomorrow, if that’s OK? I need to get my brain back into “normal mode” again, whatever that is!

    Your peonies are beautiful, I love their colour.

  6. This is a great meme, I’ll have a go at it myself when I get the eldest out of nursery and my youngest stops thrusting a pillow on my keyboard.

    J.

  7. Pingback: Meme of Various Stuff « Lacer’s Life

Leave a Reply

