Wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

I had a pretty good Father’s Day yesterday, thank to my daughter, my wife, my parents, my grandfather, and my sister.

We ate lunch and dinner at my parent’s house (about an hour drive away) and I was able to FINALLY get a bit of time with the Nintendo Wii, making me the last person in the entire known Universe to play the Wii (I was also able to make several inappropriate puns using the word Wii at the lunch table — good times).

Let me explain a little here. I own every Nintendo Console produced, from the NES to the Gamecube. Yep, I even have the Nintendo 64, which I still think was superior to the Playstation. I’m a bit of a Nintendo fanboy. In fact, when the Wii was first announced and launched, before most people had heard of it, I wanted one. My plan was to wait a year for more games to be released and for the $50-100 price drop that usually comes a year into the life of a game system. Well, the price drop never came and I had a daughter, taking away my time and money.

So, I’ve been sitting back, hearing people who had never played a video game, gushing about how much fun the Wii is, bragging about how they stood in line for one a Christmas. I would nod with a smile as if I wasn’t jealous, wiping a lone tear from my cheek. I would make a mental list of all the games I WOULD buy, if only I had a Wii and some money left over from the diaper money.

So yesterday, on Father’s Day, I was finally able to spend some time and play the Wii. I have to say, it is very great. My parents only have the demo disc, Wii Sports, but it was still a good time. I particularly liked Tennis and Baseball. Everyone was impressed that I was able to play so well in so little time, but really I was born to play Nintendo. Now, to convince my parents to buy Mario Galaxy! 🙂 I’m sure they wouldn’t mind extra visits from their granddaughter.

Somewhat related, my mom finished the killer Super Mario cross stitch I mentioned here a while back. I’ll be sure to post some pictures of it tomorrow. It is quite sweet!

10 thoughts on “Wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

  1. A fellow Wiiiiiiiiiiiiiii fan! Mario Galaxy is fun and as for Wiiiiiiiii Fit – well it’ s just plain ridiculously silly yet does make you feel like you are doing some ‘proper’ exercise and getting fit. I am addicted to the Step class….and hula hoop, and the jogging, and the yoga….

    Super Mario Kart with the steering wheel controllers is bonkers too 🙂

  2. Mario Galaxy is pretty awesome. I’m stuck though. I can’t beat one of the bosses and it’s making me mad. I’m taking a little time out from the Galaxy.

    I’m with Diane on being addicted to pretty much everything Wii Fit has to offer.

    If you ever get the change to get your hands on one of your own….do it! Or just steal your parents.

  3. Mario Galaxy is a great game. Mario Strikers is a blast too, but you really need to be playing against someone who’s relatively evenly skilled with you, or it will get fairly frustrating.

  4. Have Wii, but not fit yet, or in the galaxy. I think it only right that you convince your parents to buy galaxy, as I am sure luring the younger generations to their home was part of the incentive for buying wii in the first place. (and if not, well then thay can have fun playing that game when you aren’t there).

    Glad you had a good day, and pleasant time.

    So far Wii hurts my body too much, and not being a sporty type, and getting veritgo easily from whirring graphics, I’d rather dig holes in the yard (as far as active pastimes go), but the fitness one, that intrigues me (but it isn’t currently in our budget either)

  5. The first console I bought after marriage was the N64. I got the special edition one that came with the podracer game. Much fun!

    We are now stuck at the PS2 phase. Just haven’t been able to put up the cash for a new system. And I’m gonna have to do it soon since the forthcoming Guitar Hero is only on the newer systems.

    PS3 or XBOX? Help?!

  6. Nope, not last. I STILL haven’t played. When everyone was playing for Christmas I was like a gazillion months pregnant and couldn’t. Although, if I had, maybe I would have had a December baby instead of January and thus an extra tax break. But I digress . . .
    Happy (late) Father’s Day. Glad you had a good time.

  7. Happy Father’s Day, Struggling Writer! (Please don’t tell me UK Father’s Day was on the same day…! Helen missed it yet again).

    What do you think of PS3?

  8. Diane – I’ll have to try Wii fit when they get it

    freeandflawed – I miss those days of struggling to beat a boss. I’d help you if I could 🙂

    Rob – I bet Mario Strikers would be fun

    Taffiny – I’ll have to work on my parents 🙂

    tysdaddy – I can’t help you with XBOX or PS3. I’m a Nintendo fanboy. Well, if I had to choose I’d pick XBOX.

    Michelle – Thanks, and sorry you didn’t get to play Wii yet 🙂

    Helen – I don’t know about UK Father’s Day.

    Also, I don’t know anything about PS3. I’m biased towards Nintendo.

Leave a Reply

