I Miss the 80’s

I wanted to post a picture of the Mario cross-stitch I got for Father’s Day, but I haven’t had a chance to take a picture of it yet.

Also, I had severe pain in my shoulder and neck and it’s making it hard for me to concentrate right now. Do you know how they ask you at the doctor’s office how bad the pain is from 1 to 10? Well, I’m at a 9 right now. The sad thing is, I don’t even know how I injured myself.

Instead, I leave you with a few YouTube clips. There was this post yesterday about the favorite sports movies montages. You know, where they show some clips set to music. Anyhow, two of my favorites of all time were on the list, both from movies from the Golden Era of montages: the 1980s.

The first is from Teen Wolf, one of my favorite movies which I saw hundreds of times in the 80’s but haven’t seen since. I need to pick this one up. I miss Michael J. Fox. Tell me you don’t get chills from that.

Next is the “You’re the Best Around” montage from Karate Kid. I’m pretty sure I wore this part our on the tape I recorded off HBO. I’d put this one, and run around the house kicking things. Apologies to my family dog and kid sister.

I’d kick something right now if I wasn’t so sore.

5 thoughts on “I Miss the 80’s

  1. The best advice I ever got in life came from the movie Teen Wolf . . . say it with me if you know it . . .

    Never get less than twelve hours sleep.
    Never play cards with a person whose first name is the same as a city.
    Never date a woman with a tattoo of a dagger on her body.

    Loved that movie . . .

  2. My son and husband just watched Karate Kid the other day! What a coincidence. The kid got pretty jacked up and accidentally kicked the dog. Daddy got mad. What did he expect! 🙂

    Hope the pain in the neck goes away soon.

  3. Just thought I’d throw this out, to make you feel a bit better, mentally. My husband and I spent some time in his cousin’s pool on Father’s Day. We were just chillin’ in the pool, floating on floaties.

    He did act a bit like a jack ass and splashed some water on his cousin and her husband’s face.

    On Monday he told me his arms and upper shoulders hurt. He was not sunburned. It was his muscles that ached.

    I told him that’s what he gets for being a rough-housing jack ass in the pool.

    The point: he’s so out of shape that splashing water in someone’s face strained his shoulders. See? It could be worse.

  4. A 9 sounds pretty bad. Hope you are on the mend soon. I’m off to the docs tomorrow. My knee is still not right and as it is stopping me playing tennis, something has to be done!

    Only bit of Karate Kid I remember is the ‘Wax on, wax off’ bit – loved that!

Leave a Reply

