I Need Another Weekend

It’s Monday already? Really? Seriously. Really?

Yeah, it went quick. Friday, my daughter took a nap during the day. My wife and I planned on watching Doctor Who together that night, but the little girl had other plans (to stay up as late as possible, no matter how many lights Daddy turned off). Plus, my wife wasn’t feeling well (morning sickness? more like all day sickness) and went to bed early. Around 10:00 I finally got my daughter to bed, but it was too late for the 9:00 Doctor Who. Luckily I recorded it (on the VCR, I’m so lame).

Saturday night was more of the same. At least we got to go to the pool during the day. In fact, you’d be surprised how tan I’m getting. I’m actually beginning to look Greek again (the eyebrows are a giveaway to the trained eye). I was dragging butt when Sunday came around.

Lucky for me, my daughter fell asleep at 7:00 last night. Did I take advantage of the time to do some writing? Ummm, a little. What I also did, though, was play a game called Paper Mario for the Gamecube. I got this game for Christmas a few years ago, made it all the way to the end of the game, and have been unable to defeat the final boss. Then my daughter was born and I haven’t played it since. It felt good to play it again, even though I had my behind handed to me. It’s a really cute and fun game, so check it out if you have the Gamecube (I know, I’m probably the only person in the world still playing Gamecube).

Anyhow, I’m almost done with my entry for the writing contest at The Clarity of Night. I actually have too many words right now and need to whittle it down to 250. It’s taken me so long to write because I wasn’t sure how to turn my idea into a story. I’ve got that now. Exciting! I’ll post it here when it’s finished.

So yeah.ย  Does anyone have an extra weekend lying around somewhere that they could share with me?ย  I could really use it right now.ย  Thanks.

11 thoughts on “I Need Another Weekend

  1. Doesn’t time fly when you are having fun? Hope your wife’s sickness doesn’t last for too long….

    Sun tan? I am a nice shade of brown but it seems to be rust….. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congratulations!!
    On the little one on the way, not on your Mario playing ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think it is good to have two. This past week at the shore, as we watched our child building sandcastles alone, we lamented not having another. Actually every year since our son was born (inculding this year) we have considered it, but always decided it wasn’t the right time. So congrats on finding the perfect timing.

    We still have our gamecube. (for the first time in, well maybe ever) I did buy some strawberry nesquik, it was like 6-8 months ago, Cheese (now to be called Shade) begged, and begged, and begged for it. At the rate it is being consumed, I image it will still be in my pantry 10 years from now. But of course I am not going to nag my child to drink the stuff.

  3. Diane – ๐Ÿ™‚ lol

    Taffiny – Thanks! We wanted two partly for that reason. That’s funny about the nesquick. I haven’t tried it yet.

    Rob – they are pretty great.

    FreeAndFlawed – ๐Ÿ™‚

    larber – I’ll check that out

  4. Pingback: Monday as my Sunday: A Day of Rest « Lisa’s Words at Play

  5. Wouldn’t that be awesome if friends around the US (who worked at totally different companies) could loan you one of their days off?

    So conceivably you could get five friends to give you one day each and then have another week. That would be cool.

  6. Terry – some of that is on the About page.

    I got into writing because I like to be creative, but am not very good at drawing. Also, the local newspaper had a contest and I decided to enter and won! That told me that I have at least a little bit of skill.

Leave a Reply

