The Last Starfighter

I was surfing around on YouTube yesterday, I’m not even sure why, and then I thought to look up one of my favorite movies of all time The Last Starfighter.

The Last Starfighter is a science fiction film released in the 1980s in which a kid in a trailer park is recruited through his performance playing a video game to fight in an intergalactic war. It was also one of the first films that extensively used computer graphics for special effects. It certainly shows that it was one of the first to use computer graphics. Really, you could even tell that in the 1980s.

For me, the story overcomes the cheesy graphics. How could it not, with the combination of space ships and video games. I so wanted to play the game featured in the movie when I was a kid. It reminded me of my favorite arcade game of all time: Star Wars: The Arcade Game.

One of the best parts of the movie is the score. Just great music. Check out the YouTube below and you’ll see what I mean, especially at the 40 second mark and the 64 second mark.

5 thoughts on “The Last Starfighter

  1. I saw that one at the drive in with my parents when I was a kid.

    Love that movie.

    I never knew the special effects were so cutting edge for the time.

  2. they don’t make movies this epic yet endearing at the same time anymore. nobody is going to have a nostalgic connection to battlefield earth 20 years from now.

Leave a Reply

