The Game of Liff

No, the title isn’t a typo. Just a little Douglas Adams reference. Speaking of Douglas Adams. Did you see they were auctioning off the typewriter on which he wrote Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy? According to the article, the price was $25,000. Man, if I had an extra $25,000 lying around I’d totally buy that, and I’d probably use it to write too. I don’t have even have an extra $25, so the point is moot.

Anyhow, I was just thinking about life today. Do you ever feel like you’re playing life? I really felt like this when my daughter was first born. I mean, they hand you this kid, give you a few tips on how to bathe the kid and whatnot, but then they just send you home without any type on instruction manual. How rude!

I remember the first year or so being a parent. I felt like I was just playing parent, hearing myself say things my Dad would say such as “Don’t put that in your nose!” or “No movies until you eat at least a bite of that ham!”

Now that I’m about to become a father again, however, I think I’m actually a Dad for real now, and not just pretending. That’s a weird, scary, and cool feeling. I wonder if it will last? I’m still not sure if I feel like an adult, though. I hope not.

5 thoughts on “The Game of Liff

  1. I’m with you.

    That first projectile vomit was something. I’d worked in the health care field for years so stuff like that generally didn’t ruffle me much. But my own son? Man, I was clueless.

    Now I have four. Just didn’t know how to stop. And now the challenges are even more monumental. And I still go to bed at night wondering if I’m doing it all alright.

    Congrats on the new bundle of joy. Any day now, sooner than you realize, you’ll be getting vomited on all over again.

    Man, I’m glad *those* days are over . . .

  2. I recognize those feelings. They are all various stages you will go through – not believing you are a parent, starting to believe it and then finding you have turned into your own parent. The first time one of those catch phrases your mum or dad used to say to you comes out of your mouth is quite terrifying… 🙂

  3. I still feel so self-conscious about saying “mom” things. Just today, I told my son that he was going to “poke his eye out.” But hey, he was. 😉

    That’s awesome that you’re going to be a father again! It is easier the second time around. Busier, yet more mellow. You realize that you are going to mess up, and them’s the breaks. The kid will survive.

    But yes, let’s never turn into “adults.” Uck. A fate worse than death. 🙂

  4. I never feel so much like I am playing at life, probably because I so often feel like I don’t know what the heck I am doing, and that stresses me out, and thus the word playing doesn’t apply.
    (ugh Bob just came in and told me I am not being a good wife, and that it is time for me to get off the computer)
    Anyway, I can’t even play monopoly, because I get sooo stressed out.

    It is odd though, we used a birthing center, and several hours after I had given birth we were driving home with our little one. (knowing full well we were very clueless about how to take care of him). Being pregnant and much different from taking care of a baby, and no reading prep, or classes can fully prepare one.

    On a totally different note- I spent some time today going over my cousin’s statement of purpose for college (grad school), (as did my mom), and it really made me understand your post, from way back when, about your concerns about how to critique the work of others (for your writing group). It is hard, you want to be helpful, thus detailed, but not negative.

  5. I truly loved the Game of Life. We *just* got the game for my daughters and they love it too.

    As one would expect, my favorite part of the game was having the kids and putting the pink and blue pegs in the car. However, I most vividly being jazzed when I had girl twins.

    Now my own daughters love the game. And their favorite part is having the kids and putting them in the car!

    YES (pumps fist in air) Life has come full circle for me!

    Oh yeah, congrats on the future arrival of the new bambino. Since this is *not* all about me.

Leave a Reply

