Get Off My Lawn!


Image Source

So, I was mowing the lawn yesterday and looking over my yard. It’s not a lot of land, but it’s mine. There are times, such as last night, when I wish I could just abandon it and start with a new yard, because mine is so unkempt.

It’s not that I don’t care about having nice landscaping. It’s just hard with a little one in the house to get much yard work done. When I get home from work, I try to do as much parenting work as possible, to give my wife a break (she still does a lot). This leaves little time for the yard.

The biggest offenders I have are some lilac bushes at the front of the house. These are the first things seen as you drive up the road towards our house. I love the lilac bushes. They look so nice when they flower in the spring. After that, they just get huge.

Last winter, in fact, I trimmed them all WAY down. Think of a guy holding a hedge trimmer, slight twitch in his eye, covered in lilac bush guts. That was me. I thought this would keep it from getting huge. Wrong again.

Anyhow, I was out there last night, depressed at the state of things, and decided to do a little work. I noticed one of those weed vines was growing on the lilac bush. So I yanked it. Then I yanked some more. And more. When I was finished, the lilacs were considerably smaller. It turns out 30% of what I thought was the lilac bushes was these dastardly, parasitic weeds.

So, things look much nicer and I learned something. Maybe this post was boring. Still, it made me happy.

7 thoughts on “Get Off My Lawn!

  1. I have a similar problem in that I want a nice garden but don’t want to have to make it nice (in your case because you don’t have time, in my case because I am lazy).

    Dratted plants just keep growing though…I love that your lovely lilacs won’t have to be cut back and that you have stopped them being strangled. You sound like my kind of gardener πŸ™‚

  2. The lilac is my favorite spring flower…but you’re right about the bush’s monstrous growth at other times.

    Glad you tamed the beast. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

