Marnday

Good weekend. Ate at the Chinese Buffet with my daughter and wife. Did a ton of yard work sans shirt. Am now covered in Poison Ivy. Good times. Good times.

Oh, I also won one of the contests I mentioned last week. I won the laptop skin over at FreeAndFlawed. Here’s the one I chose:

Pretty cool, huh? The funny thing is the skin has a big HP logo on it and my laptop is a Toshiba. πŸ™‚

Something else cool happened last week. I read a post on Pretty Good On Paper about cardinals (the bird) and commented that I have a male cardinal that visits a tree in my backyard most mornings. This led me to Google, where I looked up what the song of a cardinal sounds like. That led me to this nice site that has a recording of a cardinal singing.

Wouldn’t you know, that very evening, as I was leaving my parking lot at work with the windows down (because it was a flesh-melting 90 degrees in the car), I heard that very cardinal song. I slowed the car and looked around, for the slight chance to see one of them. Amazingly, the little guy was sitting in a nearby tree. I was so happy, as this was the first time I ever identified a bird from its song. I felt smart for once.

Anyhow, how was your weekend?

9 thoughts on “Marnday

  1. I really wish the HP wasn’t on it. This was one of two favorites of mine. I have a mac that is much smaller so I wouldn’t be able to use it anyway, but it will be funny knowing a HP isn’t under it.

    Congrats on winning! I hope to have these shipped out some time this week – once I figure out how to ship them without crushing them.

  2. Congratulations! You seem to be on a winning streak – buy a lottery ticket quick πŸ™‚

    Sorry about Poison Ivy, I’m so glad we don’t get that here in the UK….

    Did you get to see Doctor Who yet?!

  3. Congratulations, a deserved win! πŸ™‚

    That is smart – I’m impressed! The only birds I can identify by sound is seagulls and that’s only because the pesky things delight in singing loudly outside my window every morning at dawn… πŸ˜†

  4. freeandflawed – thanks again and no rush I when you send it.

    Diane – I’ve only been winning stuff based on creativity. My “luck” still sucks.

    axnewxhorizonx – thanks πŸ™‚ I am awakened by crows every morning outside my window.

  5. Cool computer cover, congrats!

    Well at least I had the sense not to weed shirtless πŸ™‚

    I have never identified a bird by hearing its song, consider me jealous. (oh wait horizons is right, I can with seagulls and crows!)

  6. Well done on the contest – looks really good, that.

    I have blackbirds in my garden – they nested in the clematis and have since flown the nest but come back to sing now and then.

    I hope the poison ivy clears swiftly…

Leave a Reply

