Itchy Times A Million

My Nemesis


So, I’m infinitely more itchy today than yesterday. This poison ivy is kicking my butt. I barely got any sleep last night. I think my most solid sleep came from 4:00 AM to 6:30 AM. A few hours, at least.

Wanna hear how addicted I am to this whole blogging thing, though? I took a picture of my stomach last night and contemplated posting it here today. I hang my head in shame. Luckily for you all, I spared you the site of my blotchy red abs. I hate you poison ivy! The only good thing about poison ivy is the way my daughter tries to pronounce the word.

I had a softball game last night. I’ll be honest. I haven’t had a great season, playing wise. It’s just hard to do well at something you only do a couple hours once a week. Last night was different. Yesterday I hit the ball hard. I even hit my first home run in my Church League career. It’s not a big deal in the big picture. However, you have no idea how happy it makes me. It’s a nice little shot of confidence.

I’ve resolved myself to start working out (free weights) again at least twice a week. Before my daughter was born I was very faithful about this. Since then, it has been harder and harder to find time and energy to work out. I’m not happy about all the muscle I’ve lost (and didn’t know I had when I had it), so I’m gonna start back up again. As soon as my daughter goes to sleep at night, I’m going to hit the weights, even if it’s 10:00 at night.

Wish me luck! I’ll need it, Although, I bet a barbell is an excellent poison ivy itcher.

10 thoughts on “Itchy Times A Million

  1. I had poison oak once, but I’ve never had poison ivy. Poison oak is less itchy, but lasts months. It was a terrible, terrible experience. I can only imagine how itchy the ivy gets.

    When I had it, any sweating really aggravated it. Maybe your game last night caused it to get a little worse. Hopefully tonight it will be a bit better.

  2. Sounds dreadful! How long does it last? Is there anything you can use to stop/alleviate the itching?

    That’s great about your softball game. If you manage to summon the energy to work out after a day at work and then playing with your daughter, I hang my head in shame. I am an idle wretch.

  3. Eeghads. You know my sister was telling me that her kids are immune, thanks to their father’s genes (he’s Mexican). But they get it on their clothes and when she does laundry, she gets a terrible rash!

    Sorry you got unlucky. Hope you feel better soon!

  4. Erm, you don’t perhaps think there’s a link between the softball success and the poison ivy do you… all that much itching seeking release and firing you up to do great things! 😉

    It sounds horrid – and I do hope the itches are over really soon!

    Oh, and good luck with the weights workouts!

  5. I used to get poison ivy so bad that my eyes would goop shut and I’ve have to hear shades to school. Yeah, they made me go. Bastards!

    There’s a messed up story there somewhere . . .

Leave a Reply

