Lego Maniac

I spent a good portion of my day yesterday washing Legos (and a ladybug, as you may see in the above picture). It was tedious, but worth it, as I now have a ton of Legos to play with. I suppose my daughter has some Legos to play with too πŸ™‚ .

Why was I cleaning Legos? Well, a year or so ago my cousin gave us a big box of Legos. They have sat in our basement all that time collecting dust. Every time I would go down there with my daughter she would point to them and say, “Those are my Legos. They need cleaned.” We wanted to get them in some warm water and soap before our daughter played with them. We just never seemed to have the time. Yesterday I finally had a chunk of time.

So, I filled up a big bucket with some hot water, some dish washing liquid, and all the Legos and began to scrub. My wife helped me for a bit before the heat got to be too much. My daughter “helped” too. It took me a good two hours, but I finally got them all scrubbed and placed on the towel for drying.

The funny thing is the Lego set came with three Winnie the Poos and two Tiggers (you can probably spot them in the picture). When I brought them inside my daughter and all the Winnies talking with each other. Apparently, they were walking to Red Lobster (guess where we ate Saturday night πŸ™‚ ).

Anyhow, I’m jazzed to have this massive collection of Legos. My goal is to build a castle with them. If I do, I’ll post a picture. I love having kids! πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “Lego Maniac

  1. Ahhh Legos, the building blocks of creation. I’m glad i ran across your blog… it’s always nice to find a fellow writer. I’ve B’rolled you on my page. Good Luck to you… I’ll be back.

  2. I love Legos from back before they started selling so many preconfigured kits. The old free form build whatever you want Legos are the greatest.

    Looking at the picture there, I would go with a Space Shuttle. But that is the great thing about Legos. Space Shuttle one day. Castle the next.

  3. Oh drat, safari quit on me, and took my comment with it. Now my post is bound to be more frustrated than jolly.

    Enjoy the Lego years!
    Cheese, at 12, has just given them up, not because he doesn’t like them anymore, but because he feels he never has enough, or just the right pieces to create what is in his mind. So he gets frustrated. And those sets are pricey. To him $150 seems like a small set, to us it is a lot of money. I wish they would sell great big sets of bricks and pieces, not just ones to create one specific thing. (there is pick a brick, but again that is pricey)

    But never mind any of that, you and your daughter have all the Legos you need to create wonderful hours of play. πŸ™‚

    Did they make it to Red Lobster? What did the Pooh-Bears order? Something honey glazed I imagine

  4. Mike – I’m with you on those sets. I’m glad I got a big bunch of bricks like this, without any instructions.

    Taffiny – Sorry about Safari. I’m enjoying the Lego years. I agree $150 is too much for a set.

    I’m pretty sure Winnie made it to Red Lobster. I think he just ordered a salad, though, as they all had a big breakfast πŸ™‚

  5. My son is just getting into Legos, but is still at the stage where he wants me to build the animals and such. I had forgotten how much fun it is to throw myself into a project where I have to use my hands. The minutes fly by.

    That’s so great that you took the trouble to clean them for your daughter! She’s got a great Dad. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see what you guys come up with…

  6. Sorry, Paul, we’ve got a head start on ya. πŸ™‚ We have a 2′ x 3′ x 2′ bin filled almost to the brim with leggos. On a recent playdate at our house, my son’s friend remarked that he had never seen so many odd kinds of leggos. (Is that a compliment?) The boys made several contraption, especially with the air pump gizmo. Wonderful toy, really. Glad you’ve got your on-line!

  7. Rob – I hope I can build one. I might have to wait until my daughter goes to sleep πŸ™‚

    Sarah – I’m not that great. It took me an entire year to finally wash them πŸ™‚

    Michelle – πŸ™‚

    writinggb – I have a few years to catch up, though πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

